What Was Sarah J Maas First Book

What Was Sarah J. Maas’ First Book?

Sarah J. Maas, a renowned American author, made her debut in the publishing world with the release of her first book, “Throne of Glass,” in 2012. This young adult fantasy novel marked the beginning of Maas’ immensely popular series of the same name, which has since captivated readers worldwide.

“Throne of Glass” introduces readers to the vibrant and treacherous world of Adarlan, a kingdom ruled by a tyrannical king. The story follows Celaena Sardothien, a highly skilled assassin who is imprisoned in the salt mines of Endovier. However, her fortunes change when the Crown Prince of Adarlan offers her a chance at freedom. He proposes that if she competes against other assassins and thieves in a fight to become the King’s Champion, she will earn her freedom after serving as his personal assassin for four years.

As the fierce competition unfolds, Celaena faces numerous challenges and encounters unexpected allies and enemies. Throughout the series, readers witness her transformation from a hardened assassin to a complex and multidimensional character. Maas weaves a tale of political intrigue, romance, and high-stakes action, making “Throne of Glass” a riveting read.


1. Is “Throne of Glass” suitable for young adult readers?
Yes, “Throne of Glass” is categorized as a young adult novel and is suitable for readers aged 14 and above. However, due to some violent and mature content, parents and guardians may want to exercise discretion when recommending it to younger readers.

2. How many books are in the “Throne of Glass” series?
The “Throne of Glass” series consists of eight main books. The titles, in order, are: “Throne of Glass,” “Crown of Midnight,” “Heir of Fire,” “Queen of Shadows,” “Empire of Storms,” “Tower of Dawn,” “Kingdom of Ash,” and “The World of Throne of Glass,” which is a companion guide to the series. Additionally, there are several novellas and short stories that further expand the world of “Throne of Glass.”

3. Are there any plans for adapting “Throne of Glass” into a film or television series?
Yes, there have been plans to adapt “Throne of Glass” into a television series. In September 2020, it was announced that Hulu had acquired the rights to create a live-action adaptation. However, as of now, there have been no further updates on the progress of the series.

4. Is Sarah J. Maas working on any other projects?
Yes, in addition to the “Throne of Glass” series, Sarah J. Maas is also known for her other popular series, “A Court of Thorns and Roses.” She has also announced a new fantasy series called “Crescent City,” the first book of which, “House of Earth and Blood,” was released in 2020.

5. What makes “Throne of Glass” stand out from other fantasy novels?
“Throne of Glass” stands out due to its compelling characters, intricate world-building, and Maas’ ability to seamlessly blend action, romance, and political intrigue. The series has garnered a large fan following, thanks to its strong female protagonist and the gripping narrative that keeps readers hooked from beginning to end.

In conclusion, “Throne of Glass” was Sarah J. Maas’ first book and marked the beginning of a highly successful series. With its blend of fantasy, action, and romance, the novel introduced readers to the captivating world of Adarlan and the complex character of Celaena Sardothien. As readers delve into the series, they are in for a thrilling adventure filled with unexpected twists and turns.

Scroll to Top