What Order to Read Taylor Jenkins Reid Books

What Order to Read Taylor Jenkins Reid Books

Taylor Jenkins Reid is a talented and prolific author known for her gripping storytelling and complex characters. Her books often explore themes of love, identity, and the choices we make in life. If you’re new to her work or simply unsure of where to start, this guide will help you navigate the world of Taylor Jenkins Reid and determine the best order to read her books.

1. “Maybe in Another Life” (2015):
Begin your journey with Reid’s debut novel, “Maybe in Another Life.” This compelling story follows the life of Hannah Martin, who faces a crucial decision that splits her life into two parallel universes. Reid masterfully explores the concept of fate and the impact of choices in this thought-provoking and emotionally charged novel.

2. “After I Do” (2014):
Next up is “After I Do,” a heartfelt exploration of marriage and the challenges that come with it. When Lauren and Ryan decide to take a year-long break from their relationship, they both learn valuable lessons about love, commitment, and personal growth. Reid’s honest and relatable portrayal of a struggling marriage will resonate with readers.

3. “One True Loves” (2016):
In “One True Loves,” Reid delves into the complexities of love and loss. Emma Blair is faced with an unimaginable choice when her husband, Jesse, is presumed dead after a helicopter crash. Years later, when she has finally found new love and happiness, Jesse miraculously reappears. This emotionally charged novel explores the concept of soulmates and the difficult decisions one must make in matters of the heart.

4. “Malibu Rising” (2021):
“Malibu Rising” takes readers to the glamorous and turbulent world of the Riva family. Set in Malibu in 1983, this captivating story follows the lives of the Riva siblings over the course of one unforgettable night. Reid expertly weaves together themes of family, fame, and the pursuit of dreams in this engrossing and atmospheric novel.

5. “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” (2017):
Considered one of Reid’s most popular works, “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” is a captivating tale of fame, love, and the cost of pursuing one’s dreams. Evelyn Hugo, a legendary and enigmatic Hollywood actress, finally decides to tell her life story to an unknown journalist. As she reveals her seven marriages and the secrets behind them, readers are taken on a journey of self-discovery and the price of fame.

6. “Daisy Jones & The Six” (2019):
“Daisy Jones & The Six” transports readers to the 1970s rock ‘n’ roll scene, following the rise and fall of a fictional band. Through interviews and personal accounts, Reid creates an immersive and riveting story that explores the complexities of creativity, passion, and the consequences of success.


1. Can I read Taylor Jenkins Reid’s books in any order?
While each of Reid’s books can be enjoyed as standalone stories, reading them in the recommended order allows for a more comprehensive understanding of her writing style and recurring themes. However, feel free to explore her books based on your own interests.

2. Are Taylor Jenkins Reid’s books interconnected?
While Reid’s books are not directly interconnected, they often explore similar themes and feature complex, relatable characters. Some readers may notice subtle connections or references between her novels, adding an extra layer of enjoyment for those familiar with her entire body of work.

3. Are Taylor Jenkins Reid’s books suitable for all ages?
Reid’s books are primarily written for an adult audience and may contain mature themes and language. However, young adult readers may also find her stories relatable and engaging, as they often explore universal themes of love, self-discovery, and personal growth.

4. Will I enjoy Taylor Jenkins Reid’s books if I’m not a fan of romance novels?
While romance is a prevalent theme in many of Reid’s books, her writing goes beyond the traditional romance genre. She delves into complex relationships and tackles a wide range of emotions and life choices, making her work appealing to readers who may not typically enjoy romance novels.

In conclusion, Taylor Jenkins Reid’s books are a captivating exploration of love, choices, and the complexities of human relationships. By starting with her debut novel, “Maybe in Another Life,” and following the recommended order, readers can fully appreciate the evolution of Reid’s writing style and themes. Whether you’re a fan of romance, historical fiction, or character-driven stories, Reid’s books offer something for everyone.

Scroll to Top