What Order to Read Sarah J Maas Books

What Order to Read Sarah J Maas Books

Sarah J. Maas is a renowned American author known for her fantasy novels, particularly her popular series, Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses. With a vast and interconnected universe of characters and stories, it can be challenging for readers to determine the proper order in which to read her books. In this article, we will guide you through the recommended reading order for Sarah J. Maas books and answer some frequently asked questions to enhance your reading experience.

Reading Order for Sarah J. Maas Books:

1. Throne of Glass Series:
– Throne of Glass
– Crown of Midnight
– Heir of Fire
– Queen of Shadows
– Empire of Storms
– Tower of Dawn
– Kingdom of Ash

2. A Court of Thorns and Roses Series:
– A Court of Thorns and Roses
– A Court of Mist and Fury
– A Court of Wings and Ruin
– A Court of Frost and Starlight (novella)
– A Court of Silver Flames

3. The Assassin’s Blade (a prequel novella collection to the Throne of Glass series) can be read either before or after the Throne of Glass series. However, it is recommended to read it before starting Queen of Shadows.

4. Crescent City Series:
– House of Earth and Blood (also known as Crescent City: The House of Earth and Blood)

Frequently Asked Questions:

Q: Can I read the Throne of Glass series without reading The Assassin’s Blade?
A: While it is not necessary, reading The Assassin’s Blade before Queen of Shadows will provide you with valuable background information about the main character, Celaena Sardothien. It will enhance your understanding and emotional connection to the story.

Q: Should I read the Throne of Glass series before A Court of Thorns and Roses series?
A: It is not necessary to read one series before the other, as they are not directly connected. However, Sarah J. Maas fans often recommend reading the Throne of Glass series first due to its completion and the author’s growth as a writer throughout the series.

Q: Are there any other books related to Sarah J. Maas’s universe?
A: Yes, Sarah J. Maas has announced plans for more books set in the world of Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses. She has also mentioned the possibility of spin-offs and companion novels, so keep an eye out for future releases.

Q: Should I read the novellas and the main books in chronological order?
A: It is generally recommended to read the main books in their intended order first and then explore the novellas. The novellas often provide additional context and backstory, enhancing the reading experience.

Q: Can I read Crescent City without reading the other series?
A: Crescent City is a separate series and can be read independently of the Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses series. However, it is worth noting that Sarah J. Maas’s writing style and world-building are consistent across her works, so reading her previous books might enhance your enjoyment of Crescent City.

In conclusion, Sarah J. Maas has created a captivating universe with her series, including Throne of Glass, A Court of Thorns and Roses, and Crescent City. Following the recommended reading order will ensure that you experience the full depth and development of the characters and their stories. Whether you’re a new reader or a devoted fan, immersing yourself in Sarah J. Maas’s books is a thrilling journey through fantasy realms.

Scroll to Top