What Order to Read Leigh Bardugo Books

What Order to Read Leigh Bardugo Books: A Guide for Fans

Leigh Bardugo is a highly acclaimed author known for her captivating and fantastical novels. With multiple series and standalone books set in the Grishaverse, it can be a bit confusing to determine the best order in which to read her works. In this article, we will provide a comprehensive guide to help you navigate the magical world created by Leigh Bardugo.

1. The Grisha Trilogy

The Grisha Trilogy is the perfect starting point for anyone new to Leigh Bardugo’s books. Consisting of three books – “Shadow and Bone,” “Siege and Storm,” and “Ruin and Rising” – this series introduces readers to the enchanting world of Ravka. Set in a war-torn land where a young orphan named Alina Starkov discovers she possesses a unique power, this trilogy is filled with political intrigue, dark magic, and complex characters. Start here to fully immerse yourself in Bardugo’s universe.

2. Six of Crows Duology

After completing the Grisha Trilogy, it is highly recommended to dive into the Six of Crows Duology. Comprised of “Six of Crows” and “Crooked Kingdom,” this series takes place in the same world but introduces a fresh cast of characters. Set in the bustling city of Ketterdam, this duology follows a group of outcasts and criminals as they embark on a dangerous heist. With intricate plots, morally ambiguous characters, and thrilling adventures, the Six of Crows Duology is a fan-favorite that showcases Bardugo’s masterful storytelling.

3. King of Scars Duology

Once you’ve finished the Grisha Trilogy and the Six of Crows Duology, it’s time to delve into the King of Scars Duology. This series expands upon the events of the Grisha Trilogy and focuses on the character Nikolai Lantsov, the young king of Ravka. With political unrest and a dark power threatening to consume him, Nikolai’s story is both compelling and unpredictable. The duology consists of “King of Scars” and “Rule of Wolves,” and it offers a satisfying conclusion to the Grishaverse.

4. The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

“The Language of Thorns” is a collection of enchanting short stories set in the Grishaverse. Although it can be read at any point, it is recommended to save this book for after completing the main series and duologies. These tales are inspired by folklore and fairy tales, providing readers with a deeper understanding of the world Bardugo has created.

5. Ninth House

“Ninth House” is a departure from the Grishaverse and marks Bardugo’s foray into adult fiction. This dark and atmospheric novel follows a young woman named Galaxy “Alex” Stern, who discovers a secret society at Yale University. Blending elements of fantasy and mystery, “Ninth House” showcases Bardugo’s versatility as a writer and is a must-read for fans looking for something different.


Q: Can I start with the Six of Crows Duology without reading the Grisha Trilogy?
A: While it is possible to enjoy the Six of Crows Duology as a standalone series, reading the Grisha Trilogy beforehand enhances the overall experience. The Grisha Trilogy provides essential context and background information on the world and its magic system.

Q: Is it necessary to read “The Language of Thorns”?
A: “The Language of Thorns” is not essential to understanding the main series and duologies. However, it offers delightful insights into the Grishaverse and is highly recommended for fans who want to delve deeper into Bardugo’s magical world.

Q: Can I read “Ninth House” without reading any of Bardugo’s other books?
A: Absolutely! “Ninth House” is a standalone novel and does not require any prior knowledge of Bardugo’s other works. It serves as an excellent entry point for readers new to her writing.

In conclusion, the recommended order to read Leigh Bardugo’s books is as follows: start with the Grisha Trilogy, then proceed to the Six of Crows Duology, followed by the King of Scars Duology. If desired, explore “The Language of Thorns” for additional tales set in the Grishaverse. Finally, venture into “Ninth House” for a captivating adult novel. By following this order, readers can fully immerse themselves in Bardugo’s intricately crafted world and enjoy her books to the fullest.

Scroll to Top