What Order to Read Elin Hilderbrand Books

What Order to Read Elin Hilderbrand Books: A Guide for Fans

Elin Hilderbrand is a renowned American author known for her captivating storytelling and immersive beach reads. With over 25 published novels, Hilderbrand has created an expansive universe of interconnected characters and narratives set in the picturesque backdrop of Nantucket Island. If you’re new to Hilderbrand’s books or a devoted fan looking for the best reading order, this guide will help you navigate her extensive collection and make the most of your reading experience.

Reading Order:

1. “The Beach Club” (2000): Dive into Hilderbrand’s debut novel, which introduces readers to the idyllic island of Nantucket and its vibrant beach club community.

2. “Nantucket Nights” (2002): Set in the same island paradise, this novel explores the intricacies of friendship, love, and betrayal.

3. “Summer People” (2003): Immerse yourself in a tale of family secrets, complicated relationships, and the transformative power of summer on Nantucket.

4. “The Blue Bistro” (2005): Follow protagonist Adrienne Dealey as she embarks on a journey of self-discovery while working at an upscale island restaurant.

5. “The Love Season” (2006): This heartwarming novel delves into the lives of Marguerite Beale and her daughter, Renata, as they navigate the complexities of love and forgiveness.

6. “Barefoot” (2007): Join Vicki and Brendan as they embark on a journey of healing, love, and self-discovery, set against the backdrop of Nantucket.

7. “A Summer Affair” (2008): Delve into the lives of Claire Danner Crispin, her husband, and their three daughters as they navigate the challenges of marriage, career, and infidelity.

8. “The Castaways” (2009): Explore the lives of four couples whose lives intertwine in unexpected ways after a tragic boating accident.

9. “The Island” (2010): Discover the secrets, scandals, and complicated relationships among the island’s year-round residents and summer visitors.

10. “Silver Girl” (2011): Follow the story of Meredith Delinn as she seeks solace and redemption on Nantucket after her husband’s massive Ponzi scheme is exposed.

11. “Summerland” (2012): This novel explores the lives of four teenagers and their families as they grapple with love, loss, and the complexities of growing up on Nantucket.

12. “Beautiful Day” (2013): Join the Carmichael family as they gather on Nantucket to celebrate a wedding, revealing the joys and challenges of marriage, parenthood, and family dynamics.

13. “The Matchmaker” (2014): Get to know Dabney Kimball Beech, Nantucket’s beloved matchmaker, as she meddles in her own love life while helping others find happiness.

14. “Winter Street” (2014): Delve into the lives of the Quinn family as they face a Christmas filled with unexpected surprises, secrets, and heartache.

15. “The Rumor” (2015): Explore the intertwined lives and scandalous secrets of the residents of Nantucket.

16. “Winter Stroll” (2015): Continue the Quinn family’s journey as they navigate the ups and downs of life, love, and the holiday season.

17. “Winter Storms” (2016): Conclude the Winter Street trilogy with this heartwarming Christmas tale filled with love, family, and forgiveness.

18. “Here’s to Us” (2016): Join three ex-wives as they gather on Nantucket to say goodbye to their shared ex-husband, exploring the complexities of love, friendship, and forgiveness.

19. “The Identicals” (2017): Meet identical twins Harper and Tabitha Frost as they swap lives and discover secrets, second chances, and the true meaning of sisterhood.

20. “The Perfect Couple” (2018): Dive into a summer wedding gone awry as secrets, suspicion, and unexpected events threaten to unravel the lives of the island’s elite.

21. “Winter in Paradise” (2018): Begin a new trilogy set in St. John, an island in the Caribbean, as Irene Steele uncovers shocking revelations about her late husband.

22. “What Happens in Paradise” (2019): Continue the St. John trilogy as Irene Steele and her sons navigate the aftermath of their husband and father’s secret life.

23. “Troubles in Paradise” (2020): Conclude the St. John trilogy as the Steele family confronts the truth about their past, finding healing, love, and a sense of home.

24. “Golden Girl” (2021): Follow protagonist Vivian Howe as she contemplates her life and legacy after a sudden death shakes her world.


1. Can I read Elin Hilderbrand books out of order?
While each novel can be enjoyed as a standalone, reading them in order provides a richer experience as characters often reappear and their stories intertwine across multiple books.

2. Are all of Hilderbrand’s books set in Nantucket?
While the majority of her novels are set on Nantucket Island, the St. John trilogy takes place in the Caribbean. However, the themes of love, family, and personal growth remain central to all her books.

3. Are there any crossovers between Hilderbrand’s series?
Yes, Hilderbrand’s characters often make appearances in other novels, creating a sense of continuity and familiarity for readers. For instance, characters from the Winter Street trilogy appear in “Here’s to Us.”

4. Which book should I start with if I’m new to Hilderbrand’s work?
“The Beach Club” or “The Blue Bistro” are excellent starting points, as they introduce readers to the unique charm and captivating storytelling that Hilderbrand is known for.

In conclusion, Elin Hilderbrand’s books offer a delightful escape into the world of Nantucket, where love, family, and personal growth take center stage. By following this reading order guide, you can fully immerse yourself in the interconnected stories and characters that have captivated readers across the globe. So grab a beach towel, find a cozy spot, and embark on a journey through Hilderbrand’s enchanting novels.

Scroll to Top