What Order to Read Brene Brown Books

What Order to Read Brené Brown Books: A Comprehensive Guide

Brené Brown is a renowned researcher, speaker, and author whose work centers around vulnerability, courage, shame, and empathy. Her books have touched the lives of millions, providing insight and guidance on how to live a more authentic and fulfilling life. With a growing number of publications, you may be wondering where to start and in what order to read her books. In this article, we will provide a comprehensive guide on the order in which you should read Brené Brown books, along with a FAQs section at the end to address any lingering questions.

1. “The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are” (2010)
In this book, Brown explores the concept of embracing imperfections and living wholeheartedly. It serves as an excellent introduction to her work, providing a foundational understanding of vulnerability and shame.

2. “Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead” (2012)
Building upon the ideas presented in her previous book, “Daring Greatly” delves deeper into vulnerability and its transformative power. It discusses the importance of embracing vulnerability in various aspects of our lives, including relationships, parenting, and leadership.

3. “Rising Strong: How the Ability to Reset Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead” (2015)
In “Rising Strong,” Brown explores the process of getting back up after a fall and turning failure into growth. She emphasizes the importance of owning our stories, reckoning with emotions, and embracing vulnerability as a means of resilience and personal development.

4. “Braving the Wilderness: The Quest for True Belonging and the Courage to Stand Alone” (2017)
This book focuses on the concept of true belonging and the courage it takes to stand alone, even amidst societal pressures to conform. Brown encourages readers to find their sense of belonging within themselves and to foster meaningful connections with others.

5. “Dare to Lead: Brave Work. Tough Conversations. Whole Hearts.” (2018)
“Dare to Lead” takes a deep dive into leadership and the importance of vulnerability, empathy, and courage in the workplace. Brown provides practical tools and strategies for cultivating a culture of bravery and fostering effective leadership.

6. “The Call to Courage: Responding to Vulnerability in an Uncertain World” (2019)
This book serves as a companion to Brown’s Netflix special, where she explores the power of vulnerability and the importance of embracing it in an uncertain world. It offers additional insights and reflections on the themes she discusses in her other books.


Q: Can I read Brené Brown’s books out of order?
A: While each book stands alone and can be read independently, reading them in chronological order allows for a more comprehensive understanding of Brown’s work. Each book builds upon the previous ones, expanding on concepts and offering deeper insights.

Q: Is it necessary to read all of Brené Brown’s books?
A: It is not necessary to read all of her books, but doing so will provide a more holistic understanding of her research and teachings. You can choose the books that resonate with you the most or focus on specific areas of interest.

Q: Are Brené Brown’s books only for personal growth?
A: While her books offer valuable insights for personal growth, they are also applicable to various areas of life, including relationships, parenting, leadership, and workplace dynamics. The principles she presents can be applied to both personal and professional contexts.

Q: What if I’m not a fan of self-help books?
A: Brené Brown’s books go beyond the traditional self-help genre. They are grounded in research and offer a blend of storytelling, vulnerability, and practical tools. Even if you’re not a fan of self-help books, her work may still resonate with you.

In conclusion, the suggested order to read Brené Brown books is “The Gifts of Imperfection,” “Daring Greatly,” “Rising Strong,” “Braving the Wilderness,” “Dare to Lead,” and “The Call to Courage.” However, feel free to explore her books based on your own interests and needs. Regardless of the order, each book will provide valuable insights into vulnerability, courage, and authentic living.

Scroll to Top