What Order Should You Read the Colleen Hoover Books

What Order Should You Read the Colleen Hoover Books?

Colleen Hoover is a highly acclaimed author known for her emotionally charged and captivating novels. With over 20 novels to her name, it can be overwhelming to figure out where to start or how to navigate through her extensive collection. To help you make the most of your reading experience, this article will guide you through the recommended order in which to read Colleen Hoover’s books.

1. “Slammed” Series:
The “Slammed” series is a great place to start your journey into Colleen Hoover’s world. Begin with “Slammed,” followed by “Point of Retreat,” and conclude with “This Girl.” This trilogy introduces you to the heartwarming love story between Layken and Will, filled with poetry, family dynamics, and undeniable chemistry.

2. “Hopeless” Series:
Next, delve into the “Hopeless” series, which includes “Hopeless,” “Losing Hope,” and “Finding Cinderella.” These books explore intense themes such as love, loss, and redemption, with characters who will leave a lasting impact on your heart.

3. “Maybe” Series:
Continue your journey with the “Maybe” series, consisting of “Maybe Someday,” “Maybe Not,” and “Maybe Now.” These novels take you on a rollercoaster of emotions, offering unique perspectives on love, friendship, and second chances.

4. “It Ends with Us”:
“It Ends with Us” is a standalone novel that tackles complex issues of domestic violence and its consequences. This powerful story will leave you contemplating the choices we make and the strength we find within ourselves.

5. “Ugly Love”:
In “Ugly Love,” Colleen Hoover explores the complexities of love, lust, and heartache. This standalone novel alternates between past and present, unraveling the secrets that bind two damaged souls together.

6. “Confess”:
“Confess” provides a captivating blend of romance and art. It follows the story of Auburn and Owen, who find solace in their shared secrets, while art plays a pivotal role in their journey towards healing and redemption.

7. “November 9”:
Prepare for an intense emotional rollercoaster with “November 9.” This standalone novel revolves around Fallon and Ben, who meet on the same day each year, sharing their hopes and dreams while battling personal demons.

8. “Regretting You”:
In “Regretting You,” Colleen Hoover explores the complexities of mother-daughter relationships, grief, and second chances. With relatable characters and a heartfelt narrative, this novel will leave you reflecting on the choices we make and the impact they have on our loved ones.

9. “Verity”:
“Verity” is a departure from Colleen Hoover’s usual genre, showcasing her versatility as an author. This dark and twisted story explores the life of struggling writer Lowen Ashleigh, who uncovers dark secrets while ghostwriting for a successful author. Brace yourself for a gripping and suspenseful read.

10. Other Standalone Novels:
After exploring the main series and standalone novels mentioned above, you can dive into Colleen Hoover’s other standalone novels such as “Too Late,” “All Your Perfects,” “Without Merit,” and “Regretting You.”


Q: Do I need to read Colleen Hoover’s books in order?
A: While some series have interconnected characters or themes, most of Colleen Hoover’s books can be read as standalone novels. However, reading them in order can enhance your reading experience by providing a deeper understanding of recurring themes and references.

Q: Can I start with any of Colleen Hoover’s books?
A: Yes, you can start with any of Colleen Hoover’s books, as most of them can be enjoyed independently. However, starting with her earlier works and following the recommended order can help you appreciate the growth and evolution of her writing style.

Q: Are Colleen Hoover’s books suitable for young adult readers?
A: Colleen Hoover’s books often deal with mature themes and contain explicit content, so they may not be suitable for younger readers. It is advisable to check the specific content warnings and age recommendations for each book before diving in.

Q: Will I need tissues while reading Colleen Hoover’s books?
A: Colleen Hoover’s books are known to evoke strong emotions, often leading to tears. It is recommended to keep a box of tissues nearby while immersing yourself in her deeply emotional narratives.

In conclusion, the recommended reading order for Colleen Hoover’s books is subjective, but starting with the “Slammed” series and progressing through her other standalone novels can provide a well-rounded reading experience. Whether you choose to follow this order or explore her works in a different sequence, be prepared for an emotional journey filled with love, heartache, and thought-provoking themes that will linger in your mind long after you’ve turned the last page.

Scroll to Top