What Order Should You Read Rick Riordan Books

What Order Should You Read Rick Riordan Books?

Rick Riordan is a highly acclaimed author known for his captivating young adult fantasy novels. His works often incorporate elements of mythology, bringing ancient gods and heroes into the modern world. With numerous series and interconnected storylines, it can be confusing to determine the best order in which to read his books. This article aims to provide a comprehensive guide on the recommended reading order for Rick Riordan’s novels, along with answers to frequently asked questions.

1. Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series:
– The Lightning Thief
– The Sea of Monsters
– The Titan’s Curse
– The Battle of the Labyrinth
– The Last Olympian

2. The Heroes of Olympus Series:
– The Lost Hero
– The Son of Neptune
– The Mark of Athena
– The House of Hades
– The Blood of Olympus

3. The Kane Chronicles Series:
– The Red Pyramid
– The Throne of Fire
– The Serpent’s Shadow

4. Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard Series:
– The Sword of Summer
– The Hammer of Thor
– The Ship of the Dead

5. The Trials of Apollo Series:
– The Hidden Oracle
– The Dark Prophecy
– The Burning Maze
– The Tyrant’s Tomb
– The Tower of Nero

6. Standalone Novels:
– The 39 Clues: The Maze of Bones
– The 39 Clues: Vespers Rising
– Demigods & Magicians: Percy and Annabeth Meet the Kanes
– The Son of Sobek
– The Staff of Serapis
– The Crown of Ptolemy


Q: Can I start reading Rick Riordan’s books without any prior knowledge of mythology?
A: Absolutely! Riordan’s books are written in a way that introduces mythology in an accessible manner. You do not need any prior knowledge to enjoy his stories.

Q: Are the series interconnected, or can I read them independently?
A: While each series has its own set of main characters, they are all interconnected and exist in the same universe. Reading them in order will enhance your understanding of the overall story and the characters’ relationships.

Q: What age group are Rick Riordan’s books suitable for?
A: Rick Riordan primarily targets a young adult audience, but his books can be enjoyed by readers of all ages. They are known for their engaging storytelling, humor, and relatable characters.

Q: Are there any other books related to Rick Riordan’s universe that are not mentioned in the recommended reading order?
A: The books listed in the recommended reading order are the main series and significant tie-ins. There are additional short stories and companion books that provide extra background and enjoyment, but they are not essential to the main storylines.

Q: Will I miss out on anything if I skip a series or read them out of order?
A: While you can enjoy each series independently, reading them in order will give you a deeper understanding of the overall narrative and allow you to fully appreciate the character development and world-building.

Q: Is there a correct reading order for the standalone novels?
A: The standalone novels can be read at any time, as they exist outside the main series and do not impact the overall storylines. Feel free to enjoy them whenever you desire.

In conclusion, Rick Riordan’s books offer a thrilling journey through mythology, filled with memorable characters and captivating adventures. Following the recommended reading order will enhance your experience and allow you to fully immerse yourself in the interconnected worlds he has created. So grab a book, embark on an epic quest, and get ready to be swept away by the magic of Rick Riordan’s storytelling.

Scroll to Top