What Order Should I Read Taylor Jenkins Reid Books

What Order Should I Read Taylor Jenkins Reid Books?

Taylor Jenkins Reid is a renowned author known for her captivating storytelling and relatable characters. Her books have gained immense popularity among readers worldwide. If you’re new to Taylor Jenkins Reid’s work and wondering where to start, this article will guide you through the recommended order to read her books.

1. “Maybe in Another Life” (2015):
This novel introduces us to Taylor Jenkins Reid’s unique writing style and storytelling. It follows the life of Hannah Martin, who faces a decision that splits her life into two different paths. This book beautifully explores the concept of fate and the impact of our choices on our future.

2. “After I Do” (2014):
In this novel, Reid delves into the complexities of marriage and the struggles that come with it. The story revolves around Lauren and Ryan, a couple who decide to take a year-long break from their marriage to reassess their relationship. “After I Do” is a heartfelt and emotional exploration of love, commitment, and the power of forgiveness.

3. “One True Loves” (2016):
“One True Loves” takes readers on a journey of Emma Blair, a woman torn between her past and present. After losing her husband in a helicopter crash, Emma rebuilds her life and falls in love again. However, when her husband reappears after being presumed dead, she faces an impossible choice. This book beautifully explores the complexities of love, loss, and second chances.

4. “Malibu Rising” (2021):
Reid’s most recent novel, “Malibu Rising,” is a gripping family drama set in 1980s Malibu. It revolves around the Riva siblings, a family famous for their extravagant end-of-summer party. As the night unfolds, secrets are revealed, and the family’s dynamics are put to the test. With vivid characters and a captivating storyline, this book is a must-read for fans of Reid’s work.

5. “Daisy Jones & The Six” (2019):
In this unique and highly acclaimed novel, Reid takes readers on a nostalgic journey through the 1970s rock ‘n’ roll scene. The book is presented as an oral history of the rise and fall of the fictional band, Daisy Jones & The Six. With its compelling characters and engaging narrative style, “Daisy Jones & The Six” is a must-read for music lovers and fans of Reid’s work.

6. “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” (2017):
“The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” is often regarded as Taylor Jenkins Reid’s most popular and beloved book. It tells the story of Evelyn Hugo, a Hollywood icon who chooses an unknown journalist, Monique Grant, to write her biography. As Monique delves into Evelyn’s life, she unravels a tale of love, ambition, and sacrifice. This book is a captivating exploration of identity, fame, and the lengths one would go to protect their secrets.


1. Are Taylor Jenkins Reid’s books interconnected?
No, Taylor Jenkins Reid’s books are standalone novels. Each book presents a unique story and set of characters. While there may be recurring themes, you can enjoy them independently without any chronological order.

2. Can I start with “Malibu Rising”?
Yes, you can start with “Malibu Rising” as it is a standalone novel. However, if you prefer reading an author’s works in publication order, you may want to start with her earlier books and then move on to “Malibu Rising.”

3. Is “Daisy Jones & The Six” based on a real band?
No, “Daisy Jones & The Six” is a work of fiction. Although the story and characters may resonate with real-life bands from the 1970s, the band itself is entirely fictional.

4. Which book should I read if I love character-driven stories?
If you enjoy character-driven stories, “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” is highly recommended. It explores the depths of its protagonist’s character and offers a compelling narrative centered around Evelyn Hugo’s life.

In conclusion, Taylor Jenkins Reid’s books offer a diverse range of captivating stories and relatable characters. While the order in which you read her books is flexible, starting with “Maybe in Another Life” and progressing through her works will allow you to witness the growth of her writing style and storytelling prowess. Happy reading!

Scroll to Top