What Order Should I Read Rick Riordan Books

What Order Should I Read Rick Riordan Books?

Rick Riordan is a beloved author known for his captivating middle-grade fantasy novels. With several series and interconnected stories, it can be confusing to know where to start or how to navigate through his books. In this article, we will guide you through the best order to read Rick Riordan books and answer some frequently asked questions about his works.

1. Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series:
Start your journey with the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, which consists of five books: “The Lightning Thief,” “The Sea of Monsters,” “The Titan’s Curse,” “The Battle of the Labyrinth,” and “The Last Olympian.” This series follows Percy Jackson, a demigod son of Poseidon, as he discovers his powers, battles mythological monsters, and becomes entangled in a war among the gods.

2. The Heroes of Olympus Series:
After completing the Percy Jackson series, move on to “The Heroes of Olympus” series. This series comprises five books: “The Lost Hero,” “The Son of Neptune,” “The Mark of Athena,” “The House of Hades,” and “The Blood of Olympus.” In this series, Riordan expands the world and introduces new characters, including Jason Grace, Piper McLean, and Leo Valdez. The story focuses on the prophecy of seven demigods who must work together to prevent an ancient evil from rising.

3. The Kane Chronicles Series:
Next, dive into “The Kane Chronicles,” a trilogy that explores Egyptian mythology. The series consists of “The Red Pyramid,” “The Throne of Fire,” and “The Serpent’s Shadow.” These books follow siblings Carter and Sadie Kane as they learn about their Egyptian heritage, discover their magical powers, and face off against dangerous gods and monsters.

4. Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard Series:
Continue your Riordan reading journey with the “Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard” series, which includes “The Sword of Summer,” “The Hammer of Thor,” and “The Ship of the Dead.” This trilogy delves into Norse mythology, featuring Magnus Chase, a demigod son of Frey, as he embarks on a quest to prevent Ragnarok, the Norse apocalypse.

5. The Trials of Apollo Series:
The “Trials of Apollo” series focuses on the god Apollo, who is transformed into a mortal teenager named Lester Papadopoulos as punishment from Zeus. This series consists of five books: “The Hidden Oracle,” “The Dark Prophecy,” “The Burning Maze,” “The Tyrant’s Tomb,” and “The Tower of Nero.” Join Apollo as he embarks on a series of quests to regain his godly status and prevent the rise of a new evil.


Q1: Can I read Rick Riordan books in any order?
While some of Riordan’s series can be read independently, it’s highly recommended to follow the order mentioned above. Riordan often includes references, crossovers, and character cameos from previous books, so reading in order will enhance your overall reading experience.

Q2: Are there any other Rick Riordan books?
Yes! Apart from the main series, Riordan has also written extra books that complement the main storylines. These include “The Demigod Files,” “The Demigod Diaries,” “Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods,” “Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes,” and “Camp Half-Blood Confidential.” These books offer additional background information, short stories, and character profiles.

Q3: Can adults enjoy Rick Riordan books?
Absolutely! Though targeted towards middle-grade readers, Riordan’s books have a wide fan base, including adults. His storytelling, humor, and incorporation of mythology make his books enjoyable for readers of all ages.

Q4: Will there be more Rick Riordan books in the future?
Rick Riordan continues to write and expand his mythological universe. He has announced upcoming projects, including a series focused on the mythology of Celtic and Native American cultures, as well as books that explore the folklore of other cultures.

In conclusion, by following the suggested reading order, you will fully immerse yourself in Rick Riordan’s fantastic world of gods, demigods, and mythological creatures. Remember to enjoy the journey and get ready for thrilling adventures with each turn of the page. Happy reading!

Scroll to Top