What Order Should I Read Colleen Hoover Books

What Order Should I Read Colleen Hoover Books?

Colleen Hoover is a renowned author known for her emotionally charged and gripping romance novels. With numerous books under her belt and a dedicated fan base, it can be overwhelming to decide where to start reading her works. This article aims to guide you through the best order to read Colleen Hoover books and provide answers to some frequently asked questions.

1. “Slammed” Series:
The “Slammed” series is a great place to begin your journey into Colleen Hoover’s world. It consists of three books: “Slammed,” “Point of Retreat,” and “This Girl.” It follows the story of Layken and Will, portraying their complicated relationship amidst personal challenges and heart-wrenching circumstances.

2. “Hopeless” Series:
After finishing the “Slammed” series, the “Hopeless” series is the next logical step. This series consists of two books: “Hopeless” and “Losing Hope.” It revolves around Sky and Dean Holder, exploring themes of love, loss, and healing. The “Hopeless” series showcases Hoover’s ability to tackle sensitive topics with grace and depth.

3. “Maybe Someday”:
“Maybe Someday” is a standalone novel that tells the story of Sydney, a college student who becomes involved with her neighbor, Ridge. This book delves into the complexities of relationships, trust, and the power of music. It is a must-read for any Colleen Hoover fan.

4. “Ugly Love”:
Next on the list is “Ugly Love,” a standalone novel that explores the intricacies of casual relationships and the fear of falling in love. The story alternates between present-day events and flashbacks, unraveling the painful past of Miles Archer and the challenges he faces in opening up his heart again.

5. “Confess”:
“Confess” is a standalone novel that revolves around Auburn Reed and Owen Gentry. This book intertwines art, confessions, and the power of forgiveness in a captivating and emotional storyline. With its unique concept and well-developed characters, “Confess” is a must-read for Hoover fans.

6. “It Ends with Us”:
“It Ends with Us” is a powerful and thought-provoking novel that explores the dynamics of abusive relationships. This book follows the story of Lily Bloom, who finds herself torn between her first love and a chance at a fresh start. It is a raw and emotional rollercoaster that showcases Hoover’s ability to tackle sensitive topics with grace and realism.

7. “Regretting You”:
“Regretting You” is a standalone novel that delves into the complexities of mother-daughter relationships and second chances at love. It follows the lives of Morgan and Clara as they navigate grief, secrets, and unexpected connections. This book showcases Hoover’s ability to create relatable characters and compelling narratives.


Q: Are Colleen Hoover’s books interconnected?
A: While some of Colleen Hoover’s books share minor connections or references to characters from other novels, the majority can be read independently without missing out on the main storylines.

Q: Can I read Colleen Hoover’s books out of order?
A: Yes, each of Colleen Hoover’s books can be enjoyed as standalone novels. However, reading them in the recommended order can enhance your overall reading experience and allow you to appreciate any subtle connections between characters or themes.

Q: Does Colleen Hoover write other genres besides romance?
A: While romance is Colleen Hoover’s primary genre, she has also ventured into young adult fiction with her “Never, Never” series, co-authored with Tarryn Fisher.

Q: Are Colleen Hoover’s books suitable for young adult readers?
A: Colleen Hoover’s books contain mature themes and explicit content, making them more suitable for mature young adult readers and adult audiences.

In conclusion, the recommended order to read Colleen Hoover books begins with the “Slammed” series, followed by the “Hopeless” series, and then “Maybe Someday,” “Ugly Love,” “Confess,” “It Ends with Us,” and “Regretting You.” However, each book can be enjoyed independently, so feel free to explore based on your preferences. Happy reading!

Scroll to Top