What Order Does the Twilight Books Go In

What Order Does the Twilight Books Go In?

The Twilight series, created by Stephenie Meyer, took the world by storm with its captivating story of love, fantasy, and vampires. With its immense popularity, many readers find themselves asking, “What order does the Twilight books go in?” In this article, we will explore the correct sequence of the books and provide answers to some frequently asked questions.

Order of the Twilight Books:

1. Twilight (2005): The first book in the series introduces us to the main characters, Isabella Swan (Bella) and Edward Cullen. Bella moves to the small town of Forks, Washington, and falls in love with the mysterious and charming Edward, who is revealed to be a vampire.

2. New Moon (2006): In the second book, Bella experiences heartbreak when Edward leaves her, believing that he is protecting her. This installment delves into Bella’s emotional journey, her friendship with werewolf Jacob Black, and the dangers that surround her.

3. Eclipse (2007): As the third book unfolds, Bella finds herself torn between her love for Edward and her growing friendship with Jacob. Meanwhile, a new threat arises as an army of newborn vampires emerges, putting Bella and her loved ones in danger.

4. Breaking Dawn (2008): The final book in the series concludes Bella and Edward’s story. It explores their marriage, Bella’s transformation into a vampire, and the challenges they face as they start a family. Breaking Dawn also introduces a new perspective through Jacob’s narration, providing insight into his life and thoughts.

5. Midnight Sun (2020): Although not a direct continuation of the original series, Midnight Sun retells the events of Twilight from Edward’s perspective. This long-awaited companion novel offers readers a fresh insight into Edward’s mind and emotions.


1. Are there any additional Twilight books or spin-offs?
Yes, besides the main series, Stephenie Meyer has released a novella titled The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner (2010). It focuses on a minor character from Eclipse, providing a glimpse into their perspective.

2. Should I read the Twilight books in order?
Yes, it is highly recommended to read the Twilight books in order to fully understand the storyline, character development, and the relationships between the characters.

3. Can I skip any books in the series?
While it is possible to skip certain books, it is not advisable. Each book builds upon the previous one, developing the plot and the characters. Skipping a book may result in confusion or missing crucial details.

4. Is it necessary to read Midnight Sun?
Reading Midnight Sun is not essential to understanding the main series. However, it offers a unique perspective and deeper understanding of Edward’s character, making it a valuable addition for dedicated fans.

5. Are there any plans for future Twilight books?
As of now, Stephenie Meyer has not announced any plans for additional books in the Twilight series. However, she has expressed interest in exploring other characters’ perspectives in the future.

In conclusion, the correct order of the Twilight books is Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse, Breaking Dawn, and Midnight Sun. It is important to read them in sequence to fully appreciate the story. Additionally, Stephenie Meyer has released a novella called The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner. While not mandatory, it provides extra insight into a minor character’s experience. As a fan of the series, delving into the world of Twilight will surely captivate readers with its thrilling narrative and unforgettable characters.

Scroll to Top