What Order Does Colleen Hoover Books Go In

What Order Does Colleen Hoover Books Go In?

Colleen Hoover is a renowned contemporary romance author known for her emotionally gripping and engaging stories. With numerous bestsellers and a dedicated fan base, it’s no wonder readers are often curious about the order in which her books should be read. In this article, we will provide a comprehensive guide to the correct order of Colleen Hoover books, ensuring an optimal reading experience. Additionally, we will address some frequently asked questions about her works.

Colleen Hoover’s books are not necessarily connected in terms of characters or plotlines, but they each possess her signature style and explore similar themes. Nevertheless, it is still recommended to read them in order of publication to fully appreciate the growth and development of her writing over the years.

1. “Slammed” (2012): This debut novel introduces readers to Layken Cohen, a young woman who finds love and solace in unexpected places.

2. “Point of Retreat” (2012): This sequel continues Layken’s story and delves deeper into her relationship with Will Cooper, exploring the challenges they face as their love is tested.

3. “This Girl” (2013): This book serves as a companion novel to the first two, providing readers with Will’s perspective on their journey together.

4. “Hopeless” (2013): Colleen Hoover’s third novel introduces Sky Davis, a girl with a troubled past, and Dean Holder, a boy with secrets of his own. Their lives intertwine in unexpected ways, leading to a heartbreaking yet hopeful tale.

5. “Losing Hope” (2013): This companion novel to “Hopeless” presents the story from Dean Holder’s point of view, offering readers a deeper understanding of his character and motivations.

6. “Finding Cinderella” (2013): A novella that follows Daniel Wesley, a character from the previous books, as he experiences an unexpected connection with a mysterious girl.

7. “Maybe Someday” (2014): In this novel, Hoover explores the complexities of relationships and music as Sydney and Ridge find solace in each other’s talents and struggles.

8. “Maybe Not” (2014): A novella that focuses on two side characters from “Maybe Someday,” Warren and Bridgette, as they navigate their own unique relationship.

9. “Ugly Love” (2014): This emotionally charged novel tells the story of Tate Collins and Miles Archer, who embark on a friends-with-benefits arrangement that challenges their hearts and minds.

10. “Confess” (2015): In this gripping tale, Auburn Reed finds herself drawn to Owen Gentry, an artist with a dark secret. Their connection is tested as they navigate the power of confessions and the weight of their pasts.

11. “November 9” (2015): Ben and Fallon meet on the same date each year, forging a unique connection that spans across time. This novel explores the complexities of love and fate.

12. “It Ends with Us” (2016): A powerful and thought-provoking story, Hoover delves into the themes of love, strength, and the cycle of abuse as Lily Bloom meets Ryle Kincaid.

13. “Without Merit” (2017): This novel explores the dysfunctional dynamics of the Voss family through the eyes of Merit, a young woman struggling with her own secrets.

14. “All Your Perfects” (2018): Hoover delves into the complexities of marriage and infertility as Quinn and Graham’s relationship is put to the ultimate test.

15. “Verity” (2018): A departure from her usual genre, Hoover explores the darker side of human nature in this psychological thriller about an aspiring writer and a famous author.

16. “Regretting You” (2019): This novel follows Morgan and Clara as they navigate grief, family secrets, and unexpected love.

17. “Heart Bones” (2020): A summer romance between Beyah and Samson serves as the backdrop for this novel exploring themes of loss, forgiveness, and self-discovery.


Q: Do I need to read Colleen Hoover’s books in order?
A: While each book can be enjoyed as a standalone, reading them in order of publication provides a more comprehensive understanding of Hoover’s growth as an author and the subtle connections between some characters.

Q: Are all of Colleen Hoover’s books romance novels?
A: While Hoover is best known for her romance novels, she has also explored other genres, such as psychological thrillers (“Verity”) and young adult fiction (“Slammed” series).

Q: Can I start with any of Colleen Hoover’s books?
A: Yes, you can start with any book that catches your interest. However, if you want to experience Hoover’s writing journey from the beginning, starting with “Slammed” is recommended.

Q: Will there be more books from Colleen Hoover in the future?
A: Colleen Hoover is an extremely prolific author, and it’s safe to assume that more books will be released in the future. Her dedicated fan base eagerly awaits her next literary masterpiece.

In conclusion, Colleen Hoover has created an impressive body of work that explores the complexities of love, loss, and personal growth. While her books can be read in any order, following the publication order allows readers to fully appreciate the evolution of her writing style. Whether you’re a fan of contemporary romance or enjoy exploring different genres, Colleen Hoover’s books are sure to captivate and leave a lasting impression.

Scroll to Top