What Order Do the Twilight Books Go In

What Order Do the Twilight Books Go In?

The Twilight Saga, written by Stephenie Meyer, is a popular series of young adult fantasy novels that took the world by storm in the early 2000s. With its captivating storyline and unforgettable characters, it quickly gained a massive fan base and spawned a successful film franchise. If you’re new to the Twilight series or simply want to revisit the books in the correct order, this article will provide you with all the information you need.

1. Twilight (2005):
The first book in the series, Twilight, introduces us to the main characters, Isabella Swan (Bella) and Edward Cullen. Set in the small town of Forks, Washington, it tells the story of Bella’s move to her father’s hometown and her encounters with the mysterious and alluring Edward, who turns out to be a vampire. Their forbidden love becomes the central theme of the book.

2. New Moon (2006):
In the second installment, New Moon, Bella experiences heartbreak when Edward decides to leave her for her own safety. Devastated, Bella finds solace in her friendship with Jacob Black, who harbors his own supernatural secret. This book delves deeper into the werewolf-vampire conflict and explores Bella’s struggle to overcome her depression and move on from Edward.

3. Eclipse (2007):
Eclipse takes readers on a thrilling journey as Bella is forced to make a choice between her love for Edward and her growing feelings for Jacob. Meanwhile, a group of vengeful vampires poses a threat to the town of Forks, putting Bella’s life in constant danger. This book delves into the complex dynamics between vampires and werewolves, while also exploring the supernatural world beyond Forks.

4. Breaking Dawn (2008):
The final book in the series, Breaking Dawn, concludes Bella and Edward’s story and introduces new challenges for the couple. Bella and Edward get married and face unexpected consequences when Bella becomes pregnant with their half-human, half-vampire daughter, Renesmee. This book delves into the consequences of their choices and the epic battle between the Cullen family and other vampire covens.


Q: Are there any additional Twilight books apart from the main series?
A: Yes, Stephenie Meyer released a companion novel titled The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner in 2010. It provides a glimpse into the life of a newborn vampire introduced in Eclipse.

Q: Should I watch the movies before reading the books?
A: It’s up to personal preference. While the movies capture the essence of the story, the books provide more detailed character development and a deeper understanding of the Twilight universe.

Q: Is it necessary to read the books in order?
A: Yes, it is highly recommended to read the books in the order they were published. Each book builds upon the events of the previous one, and reading them out of order may result in confusion and spoilers.

Q: Are there any spin-off books or sequels?
A: Yes, Stephenie Meyer released a companion novel titled Midnight Sun in 2020, which retells the events of Twilight from Edward’s perspective. She has also announced that she plans to release two more books in the Twilight universe.

Q: Can adults enjoy the Twilight series?
A: Absolutely! While the books were primarily targeted at young adults, readers of all ages have found themselves captivated by the story and the deep emotions it evokes.

In conclusion, the correct order to read the Twilight books is Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse, and Breaking Dawn. The series takes readers on a captivating journey filled with romance, suspense, and supernatural elements. Whether you’re a newcomer or a returning fan, diving into the Twilight universe is sure to be an exciting and unforgettable experience.

Scroll to Top