What Is the Order of John Grisham Books

What Is the Order of John Grisham Books?

John Grisham is a renowned American author who is best known for his legal thrillers. With over 40 books to his name, his novels have captivated readers around the world. If you’re new to Grisham’s work or simply want to dive into his books in chronological order, this article will guide you through the order of John Grisham books.

1. A Time to Kill (1989): Grisham’s debut novel introduces readers to the fictional town of Clanton, Mississippi, and its young lawyer, Jake Brigance. This gripping courtroom drama tells the story of a racially charged murder trial that tests the boundaries of justice.

2. The Firm (1991): In this fast-paced legal thriller, Grisham introduces readers to Mitch McDeere, a young lawyer who joins a prestigious law firm only to discover its dark secrets. As Mitch delves deeper into the firm’s activities, he finds himself entangled in a dangerous web of deceit.

3. The Pelican Brief (1992): This thrilling novel follows law student Darby Shaw as she uncovers a conspiracy that implicates powerful figures within the government. As Darby races against time to expose the truth, she becomes the target of those who want to keep their secrets hidden.

4. The Client (1993): Mark Sway, an 11-year-old boy, becomes entangled in a dangerous situation when he witnesses the suicide of a mob lawyer. As the authorities and the mob try to get information out of him, Mark seeks the help of lawyer Reggie Love to protect himself and his family.

5. The Chamber (1994): This thought-provoking novel explores the death penalty through the story of Sam Cayhall, a Klansman on death row. Adam Hall, a young lawyer and Sam’s grandson, takes on the daunting task of saving his grandfather from the gas chamber.

6. The Rainmaker (1995): Rudy Baylor, a young lawyer struggling to find success, takes on a case against a powerful insurance company. As Rudy battles unethical practices and corporate greed, he finds himself fighting not only for justice but also for his own survival.

7. The Runaway Jury (1996): In this legal thriller, Grisham delves into the world of jury manipulation and the power of big tobacco companies. As a landmark trial unfolds, a mysterious juror with a hidden agenda threatens to change the outcome.

8. The Partner (1997): Patrick Lanigan fakes his death and steals a fortune from his law firm, leaving everyone wondering where he has gone. As the authorities and his former partners search for him, Lanigan must face the consequences of his actions.

9. The Street Lawyer (1998): Michael Brock, a high-powered lawyer, has his life turned upside down when he encounters a homeless man who opens his eyes to the injustices of society. Michael’s decision to leave his prestigious firm and fight for the rights of the homeless leads him on a path of self-discovery.

10. The Testament (1999): Billionaire Troy Phelan shocks his family by leaving his entire fortune to an illegitimate daughter living in the Brazilian rainforest. Nate O’Riley, a washed-up lawyer, is tasked with finding Rachel Lane to deliver her inheritance.


1. Are John Grisham’s books standalone or should they be read in order?
While most of Grisham’s books can be read as standalone novels, there are recurring characters and references that enhance the reading experience when tackled in chronological order.

2. What is the latest John Grisham book?
As of 2021, John Grisham’s latest book is “Sooley,” a departure from his usual legal thrillers. It tells the story of a South Sudanese basketball player navigating fame and tragedy in the United States.

3. How many books has John Grisham written?
John Grisham has written over 40 books, including legal thrillers, non-fiction, and a series for young readers.

4. Are all of John Grisham’s books legal thrillers?
While John Grisham is most famous for his legal thrillers, he has also explored other genres such as sports fiction, non-fiction, and even a Christmas novel.

5. Which John Grisham book is the best to start with?
“A Time to Kill,” Grisham’s debut novel, is a great starting point as it introduces readers to the fictional town of Clanton and sets the stage for many of his future works.

In conclusion, John Grisham’s books have enthralled readers for decades. Whether you’re a fan of legal thrillers or simply enjoy well-crafted stories, following the chronological order of his books allows you to fully immerse yourself in the world of Grisham’s characters and their gripping tales of justice and intrigue.

Scroll to Top