What Is the Order of Game of Thrones Books

What Is the Order of Game of Thrones Books?

Game of Thrones is a highly popular and captivating fantasy series created by George R.R. Martin. The series has gained immense popularity not only through its television adaptation but also through the books on which it is based. For those who have fallen in love with the intricate storylines, complex characters, and the richly detailed world of Westeros, knowing the correct order of the Game of Thrones books is essential. Here, we will explore the correct order of the books and answer some frequently asked questions about the series.

1. A Game of Thrones (1996):
The first book in the series, “A Game of Thrones,” introduces readers to the vast and complex world of Westeros. It sets the stage for the power struggles between noble houses, the looming threat beyond the Wall, and the intricate web of alliances and betrayals. This book is a must-read for anyone looking to dive into the series.

2. A Clash of Kings (1998):
Following the events of the first book, “A Clash of Kings” delves even deeper into the power struggles within Westeros. New characters are introduced, and the stakes are raised as rival kings vie for the Iron Throne. This book is a rollercoaster of political intrigue, battles, and unexpected alliances.

3. A Storm of Swords (2000):
Considered by many as one of the best books in the series, “A Storm of Swords” takes readers on a wild journey filled with shocking twists and turns. The War of the Five Kings reaches its climax, and the consequences of various characters’ actions reverberate throughout Westeros. This book is a true page-turner, filled with emotional moments and unexpected deaths.

4. A Feast for Crows (2005):
In “A Feast for Crows,” Martin takes a different approach by splitting the narrative. This book focuses primarily on events in the southern regions of Westeros, allowing for a deeper exploration of the characters residing there. Some fan-favorite characters are absent in this installment, but new perspectives are introduced, providing a fresh take on the series.

5. A Dance with Dragons (2011):
“A Dance with Dragons” runs parallel to the events of “A Feast for Crows” and brings together characters from both books. It expands the world even further, taking readers to the eastern continent of Essos and introducing new storylines. This book is a thrilling ride filled with political machinations, epic battles, and unexpected revelations.

6. The Winds of Winter (unreleased):
“The Winds of Winter” is the highly anticipated sixth book in the series. Although it has been years since the release of the previous book, Martin assures fans that he is diligently working on it. The release date remains uncertain, leaving fans eagerly awaiting the next chapter in this epic saga.

7. A Dream of Spring (unreleased):
The final book in the series, “A Dream of Spring,” will conclude the gripping tale of power, politics, and survival in Westeros. As the title suggests, it promises to tie up loose ends and bring the story to a satisfying conclusion. However, like the previous book, its release date is yet to be announced.


Q: Should I read the books if I’ve already watched the TV series?
A: Absolutely! The books provide a much more detailed and immersive experience, with additional storylines, inner monologues, and a deeper exploration of the world. They offer a chance to delve into the minds of the characters and gain a more comprehensive understanding of the story.

Q: Can I skip the books that have been covered in the TV series?
A: While the TV series does cover the main plot points, the books provide a wealth of additional details, subplots, and character development. Skipping books may lead to missing out on crucial information and a more complete understanding of the story.

Q: Is it necessary to read the books in order?
A: Yes, it is highly recommended to read the books in the order they were published. Each book builds upon the events of the previous ones, and reading them out of order may result in confusion and missed connections.

Q: Are there other books related to the Game of Thrones series?
A: Yes, there are several companion books and novellas that expand upon the world of Westeros. These include “The World of Ice & Fire,” “A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms,” and “Fire & Blood,” which provides a detailed history of the Targaryen dynasty.

In conclusion, the correct order of the Game of Thrones books is “A Game of Thrones,” “A Clash of Kings,” “A Storm of Swords,” “A Feast for Crows,” “A Dance with Dragons,” followed by the yet-to-be-released “The Winds of Winter” and “A Dream of Spring.” Reading these books will allow you to fully immerse yourself in the intricate world of Westeros and experience the gripping tale of power and survival in all its glory.

Scroll to Top