What Is the Order of Danielle Steel Books

What Is the Order of Danielle Steel Books?

Danielle Steel is a prolific American author known for her captivating romance novels and family sagas. With over 190 books to her name, she has sold more than 800 million copies worldwide. If you are new to her work or a dedicated fan looking to dive deeper into her literary universe, it’s important to know the order of Danielle Steel books. In this article, we will provide you with a comprehensive guide to the chronological order of her novels, along with some frequently asked questions for further clarity.

Chronological Order of Danielle Steel Books:

1. “Going Home” (1973)
2. “Passion’s Promise” (1977)
3. “Now and Forever” (1978)
4. “The Promise” (1978)
5. “Season of Passion” (1979)
6. “Summer’s End” (1980)
7. “The Ring” (1980)
8. “Palomino” (1981)
9. “To Love Again” (1981)
10. “Remembrance” (1981)
11. “Loving” (1981)
12. “Once in a Lifetime” (1982)
13. “Crossings” (1982)
14. “A Perfect Stranger” (1983)
15. “Thurston House” (1983)
16. “Changes” (1983)
17. “Full Circle” (1984)
18. “Family Album” (1985)
19. “Secrets” (1985)
20. “Wanderlust” (1986)
21. “Fine Things” (1987)
22. “Kaleidoscope” (1987)
23. “Zoya” (1988)
24. “Star” (1989)
25. “Daddy” (1989)
26. “Message from Nam” (1990)
27. “Heartbeat” (1991)
28. “No Greater Love” (1991)
29. “Jewels” (1992)
30. “Mixed Blessings” (1992)
31. “Vanished” (1993)
32. “Accident” (1994)
33. “The Gift” (1994)
34. “Malice” (1996)
35. “Silent Honor” (1996)
36. “The Ghost” (1997)
37. “The Long Road Home” (1998)
38. “The Klone and I” (1998)
39. “Mirror Image” (1998)
40. “Bittersweet” (1999)

Please note that this list covers only a fraction of Danielle Steel’s extensive bibliography. To view the complete chronological order of her books, it is recommended to visit her official website or consult reliable literary sources.


1. Are Danielle Steel’s books standalone novels, or do they need to be read in order?
Danielle Steel’s books are predominantly standalone novels, meaning each story is self-contained and can be enjoyed independently. However, some characters or settings may reappear in multiple novels, creating a loosely connected universe. While reading her books in order is not necessary, it can enhance the reading experience by providing a deeper understanding of recurring elements.

2. How many books has Danielle Steel written?
Danielle Steel has written over 190 books, making her one of the most prolific authors in the romance genre. Her books cover a wide range of themes, including love, relationships, family dynamics, and personal growth.

3. What is Danielle Steel’s most popular book?
While popularity can vary among readers, one of Danielle Steel’s most well-known books is “The Gift.” It tells the story of a young woman who faces numerous challenges after her husband’s sudden death. Other popular titles include “The Ring,” “Zoya,” “Fine Things,” and “Message from Nam.”

4. Can I start reading Danielle Steel’s books with her latest releases?
Yes, you can start reading Danielle Steel’s books with her latest releases without any issues. As mentioned earlier, her novels are standalone, allowing readers to jump in at any point. However, if you enjoy her writing style and storytelling, you may want to explore her earlier works as well.

5. Are Danielle Steel’s books suitable for all ages?
Danielle Steel’s books are primarily intended for adult readers due to their mature themes and content. While some of her novels may be appropriate for young adult readers, it is advisable to check the book’s synopsis and reviews to determine their suitability for younger audiences.

In conclusion, the order of Danielle Steel books is not crucial to enjoying her novels, given that most are standalone stories. However, reading them in order can provide a more immersive experience. With her extensive bibliography, Danielle Steel continues to captivate readers with her timeless tales of love, family, and personal growth.

Scroll to Top