What Brandon Sanderson Book Should I Read First

What Brandon Sanderson Book Should I Read First?

Brandon Sanderson is a prolific and highly acclaimed fantasy author known for his intricate world-building, compelling characters, and unique magic systems. With over 30 published books, including popular series such as Mistborn and The Stormlight Archive, it can be daunting for readers to decide where to start. In this article, we will explore some of Brandon Sanderson’s most notable works and help you determine which book you should read first.

Mistborn: The Final Empire

Mistborn: The Final Empire is an excellent entry point into Sanderson’s vast universe. Set in a dark and oppressive world, the story follows Vin, a street urchin with a mysterious power, as she joins a group of rebels seeking to overthrow the tyrannical Lord Ruler. The book is known for its intricate magic system involving the consumption of metals to gain enhanced abilities, as well as its complex plot, well-developed characters, and epic heists. With a perfect balance of action, intrigue, and world-building, Mistborn: The Final Empire is a great introduction to Sanderson’s storytelling prowess.

The Way of Kings

For those looking for a grand, epic fantasy series, The Way of Kings, the first book in The Stormlight Archive, is a fantastic choice. Set in a world plagued by constant storms and war, the story follows several characters, each with their own unique struggles and secrets, as they navigate a world on the brink of catastrophe. Sanderson’s world-building in this series is truly remarkable, with intricate cultures, fascinating magic systems, and a deep sense of history. The Way of Kings is a massive book, but its depth and complexity make it a rewarding read for fans of epic fantasy.


Elantris is Sanderson’s debut novel and a standalone fantasy tale. Set in the city of Elantris, once a place of godlike beings but now a decaying ruin, the story follows Prince Raoden, who is cursed to become one of the city’s afflicted. Raoden must uncover the secrets of Elantris and find a way to restore its former glory. Elantris showcases Sanderson’s talent for world-building and character development, and although it is a standalone novel, it is set in the same universe as some of his other works, offering a glimpse into Sanderson’s larger cosmere universe.


Warbreaker is another standalone fantasy novel that serves as an excellent entry point into Sanderson’s works. The story revolves around two princesses, Vivenna and Siri, who are sent to marry the God King of Hallandren, a nation at the brink of war. Full of political intrigue, complex relationships, and Sanderson’s trademark magic systems, Warbreaker is a captivating read that explores themes of identity, power, and the nature of divinity.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q: Are Brandon Sanderson’s books interconnected?
A: Yes, many of Sanderson’s works are interconnected within the larger cosmere universe. However, each series or standalone novel can be enjoyed independently without prior knowledge of the cosmere.

Q: Should I read Sanderson’s books in publication order?
A: While reading Sanderson’s books in publication order can provide a deeper understanding of the cosmere, it is not necessary. Each series and standalone novel can be read on its own, and Sanderson often includes subtle connections that enhance the reading experience for long-time fans.

Q: Are Sanderson’s books suitable for young adult readers?
A: Sanderson’s books are generally suitable for young adult readers and older. However, some of his works, such as The Stormlight Archive, can be quite lengthy and complex, requiring a more dedicated reader.

Q: Will there be more books in The Stormlight Archive series?
A: Yes, The Stormlight Archive is planned to be a ten-book series. As of now, four books have been published, with the fifth one scheduled for release in late 2022.

In conclusion, choosing the perfect Brandon Sanderson book to start with depends on your preferences. If you enjoy stories with heists and unique magic systems, Mistborn: The Final Empire is an excellent choice. For those craving epic fantasy, The Way of Kings offers a vast and immersive world. Elantris and Warbreaker are standalone novels that showcase Sanderson’s world-building and storytelling abilities. Whichever book you choose, you’re sure to be captivated by Sanderson’s masterful storytelling and intricate worlds.

Scroll to Top