What Books Are True Blood Based On

What Books Are True Blood Based On?

The popular television series True Blood captivated audiences with its intriguing storyline, supernatural creatures, and steamy romance. But did you know that the show was actually based on a series of books? Written by Charlaine Harris, the Southern Vampire Mysteries, also known as the Sookie Stackhouse Novels, were the inspiration behind the hit HBO series. In this article, we will explore the books that True Blood is based on and provide answers to some frequently asked questions about the series.

The Southern Vampire Mysteries is a series of thirteen novels that follow the adventures of Sookie Stackhouse, a telepathic waitress living in the fictional town of Bon Temps, Louisiana. The series is set in a world where vampires have come out of the coffin and coexist with humans due to the invention of synthetic blood, called Tru Blood. The books not only delve into the complex relationships between humans and vampires but also introduce other supernatural creatures such as werewolves, shapeshifters, fairies, and witches.

The first book in the series, Dead Until Dark, was published in 2001 and introduced readers to Sookie Stackhouse and her world. The subsequent books further developed the characters and their relationships, expanding the supernatural elements and the conflicts that arise between different factions. The series became a huge success and gained a dedicated fan base, leading to its adaptation into the television series True Blood, which premiered in 2008.

The True Blood television series closely follows the main storyline of the books, with each season roughly corresponding to one or two of the novels. However, there are some differences between the books and the show, as is often the case with adaptations. Some characters may have been combined or omitted from the television series, and certain plotlines may have been altered or expanded upon for the sake of the show’s narrative. Nonetheless, both the books and the show offer a captivating exploration of the supernatural world and the challenges faced by its characters.


Q: How many books are in the Southern Vampire Mysteries series?
A: There are thirteen books in the series. The final book, Dead Ever After, was published in 2013.

Q: Are the books suitable for young readers?
A: The Southern Vampire Mysteries series is intended for an adult audience. It contains explicit language, sexual content, and violence. Parents are advised to use discretion.

Q: Can I read the books if I’ve already watched the show?
A: Absolutely! The books offer additional details and character development that were not included in the television series. Reading the books can provide a deeper understanding of the world and the characters you already love.

Q: Are the books better than the show?
A: This is subjective and depends on personal preference. While the television series expanded upon the books and added its own unique elements, some fans may prefer the original source material. It’s worth giving the books a try to see if they resonate with you.

Q: Is there a recommended reading order for the books?
A: It is recommended to read the books in order, as the storylines and character arcs build upon each other. Starting with Dead Until Dark and progressing through the series will provide the most cohesive reading experience.

In conclusion, True Blood is based on the Southern Vampire Mysteries series, written by Charlaine Harris. These captivating books take readers on a supernatural journey filled with vampires, werewolves, and other mystical creatures. While the television series closely follows the main storyline, there are differences between the books and the show. Whether you are a fan of the show or new to the world of Sookie Stackhouse, the Southern Vampire Mysteries offer a thrilling and immersive reading experience.

Scroll to Top