What Book Comes After the Mark of Athena

What Book Comes After the Mark of Athena?

After the thrilling events in “The Mark of Athena,” fans of Rick Riordan’s popular fantasy series, “The Heroes of Olympus,” eagerly anticipate the next installment. The third book in the series, “The Mark of Athena,” left readers on an emotional cliffhanger, desperate to know what happens next. So, what book comes after “The Mark of Athena”? The answer lies in the fourth book of the series, called “The House of Hades.”

“The House of Hades” takes readers on a breathtaking journey as the demigods of Camp Half-Blood and Camp Jupiter face their most challenging quest yet. In the aftermath of a disastrous battle at Camp Jupiter, the Greek and Roman demigods must unite to close the Doors of Death and prevent the rise of Gaea, the earth goddess. However, this mission is no easy feat, as they must venture into the dark and treacherous realm of the Underworld.

In “The House of Hades,” readers follow seven demigods: Percy Jackson, Annabeth Chase, Jason Grace, Piper McLean, Leo Valdez, Hazel Levesque, and Frank Zhang. Each character faces their own personal struggles and confronts their deepest fears along the way. As they navigate through the Underworld, they encounter mythical creatures, face deadly challenges, and must rely on their wits and strengths to survive.

The book showcases the growth and development of the characters, particularly Percy and Annabeth, who face their toughest test yet as they confront their feelings for each other and the challenges of Tartarus. Their journey through the darkest depths of the Underworld tests their love and loyalty, providing readers with a rollercoaster of emotions.

“The House of Hades” not only explores the action-packed adventures of the demigods but also delves into the complexities of Greek and Roman mythology. Rick Riordan masterfully weaves together various mythological elements, introducing readers to lesser-known gods, monsters, and legends. The book is educational and entertaining, making it a compelling read for both young and adult audiences.


Q: When was “The House of Hades” published?
A: “The House of Hades” was published on October 8, 2013.

Q: How many books are there in the “Heroes of Olympus” series?
A: The “Heroes of Olympus” series consists of five books in total.

Q: Can I read “The House of Hades” without reading the previous books?
A: While it is possible to read “The House of Hades” as a standalone book, it is highly recommended to read the series in order to fully understand the ongoing storyline and character development.

Q: Is there a movie adaptation of “The House of Hades”?
A: As of now, there are no official plans for a movie adaptation of “The House of Hades” or the “Heroes of Olympus” series.

Q: Will there be more books after “The House of Hades”?
A: Yes, the series continues with the fifth and final book, “The Blood of Olympus,” which concludes the epic adventure of the demigods.

In conclusion, “The House of Hades” is the fourth book in the “Heroes of Olympus” series and continues the thrilling journey of the demigods as they face their most dangerous quest yet. With its captivating storyline, rich mythology, and memorable characters, this book is sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats. So, if you’re looking for a thrilling fantasy read, don’t miss out on “The House of Hades” and the rest of the “Heroes of Olympus” series.

Scroll to Top