What Book Comes After the Giver

What Book Comes After the Giver?

The Giver, written by Lois Lowry, is a captivating and thought-provoking novel that has captivated readers of all ages since its release in 1993. This dystopian tale follows the story of Jonas, a young boy living in a seemingly perfect society devoid of pain, suffering, and choice. However, as Jonas begins his training to become the Receiver of Memory, he uncovers the dark secrets behind his seemingly utopian world. The Giver has become a staple in literature curriculums and has left readers eagerly anticipating what comes next in the series. So, what book comes after The Giver?

The Giver is the first installment in a quartet of books known as The Giver Quartet. The series continues with three more books that explore different perspectives and expand on the themes introduced in the original novel. The subsequent books are titled Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son. Each book offers a unique and interconnected story that enhances the reader’s understanding of the world created by Lois Lowry.

Gathering Blue, published in 2000, is the second book in The Giver Quartet. Although it is not a direct sequel to The Giver, it takes place in the same dystopian universe. This novel introduces readers to a new protagonist named Kira, a young girl with a physical disability who possesses a unique talent for weaving. Kira’s story explores themes of resilience, creativity, and the value of individuality. While the events of Gathering Blue occur concurrently with The Giver, the two stories are independent of each other and can be read in any order.

Messenger, published in 2004, serves as a continuation of both The Giver and Gathering Blue. This book brings together characters from the previous two novels and introduces new ones. The story follows Matty, a young boy with extraordinary abilities, as he navigates a world torn apart by chaos and conflict. Messenger delves deeper into the themes of community, sacrifice, and the consequences of societal choices. It offers readers a broader understanding of the interconnectedness of the characters and events within The Giver Quartet.

The final book in the quartet is Son, published in 2012. Son brings the series full circle by intertwining the lives of Jonas, Kira, and Matty. It provides closure to the overarching narrative and explores the power of maternal love, perseverance, and the yearning for freedom. Son solidifies the quartet as a cohesive and comprehensive exploration of the dystopian world created by Lois Lowry.


Q: Do I need to read the books in order?
A: While The Giver Quartet can be read in any order, it is recommended to read The Giver first to establish a foundation for the world and themes explored in the subsequent books.

Q: Is The Giver Quartet suitable for all ages?
A: The Giver Quartet is generally considered appropriate for readers aged 12 and above. However, parents and educators should exercise discretion based on individual maturity levels.

Q: Can I read The Giver Quartet if I haven’t read The Giver?
A: Yes, each book in the quartet can be enjoyed as a standalone novel. However, reading The Giver first will enhance your understanding and appreciation of the overall narrative.

Q: Are the subsequent books as impactful as The Giver?
A: While The Giver is often regarded as the standout novel in the series, each book in The Giver Quartet offers its own unique perspective and explores different aspects of the dystopian world. Fans of The Giver will likely find value in continuing with the series.

In conclusion, The Giver is the first book in The Giver Quartet, followed by Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son. Each book expands on the themes and world introduced in The Giver, providing readers with a comprehensive exploration of a dystopian society. Whether you choose to read them in order or individually, The Giver Quartet offers a captivating and thought-provoking journey that will leave readers contemplating the complexities of human nature and societal structures.

Scroll to Top