What Are the Extra Books in the Catholic Bible Called

What Are the Extra Books in the Catholic Bible Called?

The Catholic Bible, also known as the Holy Bible, is divided into two main sections: the Old Testament and the New Testament. However, there are some additional books found in the Catholic version of the Bible that are not included in the Protestant version. These extra books are commonly referred to as the Deuterocanonical books or the Apocrypha. In this article, we will explore the history and significance of these books, as well as answer some frequently asked questions about them.

History and Significance of the Deuterocanonical Books:

The term “Deuterocanonical” comes from the Greek words “deutero” meaning “second” and “canon” meaning “rule.” These books were not initially included in the Hebrew Bible but were later accepted by the early Christian Church. The Deuterocanonical books include Tobit, Judith, Wisdom of Solomon, Sirach (Ecclesiasticus), Baruch, and First and Second Maccabees. Additionally, there are extra sections in the books of Esther and Daniel, known as the additions to Esther and the additions to Daniel, respectively.

The inclusion of these books in the Catholic Bible can be traced back to the Septuagint, a Greek translation of the Hebrew Bible. The Septuagint was widely used during the time of Jesus and the apostles and became the primary scripture for Greek-speaking Jews and early Christians. It contained the Deuterocanonical books, which were considered authoritative and inspired by God.

However, during the Reformation in the 16th century, Protestant reformers, such as Martin Luther, questioned the canonicity of these books. They believed that since the Deuterocanonical books were not part of the Hebrew Bible, they shouldn’t be considered as inspired scripture. As a result, these books were excluded from the Protestant Bible, but they remain an integral part of the Catholic Bible.


Q: Why are these books called the Apocrypha?

A: The term “Apocrypha” comes from the Greek word “apokryphos,” meaning “hidden” or “obscure.” It was initially used to refer to certain Jewish writings that were not included in the Hebrew Bible. However, in the context of the Catholic Bible, the term “Deuterocanonical” is preferred.

Q: Are the Deuterocanonical books considered equal in authority to the rest of the Bible?

A: Yes, the Catholic Church considers the Deuterocanonical books to be divinely inspired and equal in authority to the rest of the Bible. They are recognized as canonical and are used for teaching, worship, and personal devotion.

Q: Do other Christian denominations accept the Deuterocanonical books?

A: While the Protestant tradition generally excludes the Deuterocanonical books, some Anglican and Lutheran traditions include them in a separate section called the “Apocrypha” or “Deuterocanon.” Additionally, the Eastern Orthodox Church includes several additional books, known as the “Anagignoskomena,” which are not found in the Catholic or Protestant Bibles.

Q: What is the significance of these books for Catholics?

A: The Deuterocanonical books provide valuable insights into the religious, historical, and cultural context of the time. They address important themes such as wisdom, prayer, morality, and the history of Israel. For Catholics, these books enrich their understanding of the Bible and provide additional guidance for spiritual growth.

Q: Can the Deuterocanonical books be found in other translations of the Bible?

A: Yes, some versions of the Bible, such as the New Revised Standard Version (NRSV) and the Revised Standard Version (RSV), include the Deuterocanonical books. However, it is important to note that these versions are typically used by Catholic or ecumenical communities. The majority of Protestant translations do not include these books.

In conclusion, the extra books in the Catholic Bible, known as the Deuterocanonical books or the Apocrypha, play a significant role in Catholic theology, worship, and spiritual life. While they are not included in the Protestant Bible, they provide valuable insights and teachings for those who adhere to the Catholic faith. Understanding the history and significance of these books can deepen one’s appreciation for the richness and diversity of biblical literature.

Scroll to Top