What Are the Drizzt Books in Order

What Are the Drizzt Books in Order?

The Drizzt books are a series of fantasy novels written by R.A. Salvatore. They revolve around the adventures of the iconic dark elf ranger, Drizzt Do’Urden, as he navigates the treacherous world of the Forgotten Realms. Since the release of the first book in 1988, the Drizzt series has become one of the most popular and enduring sagas in the fantasy genre, captivating readers with its rich world-building, complex characters, and thrilling storylines. In this article, we will explore the Drizzt books in order, providing a comprehensive guide for both newcomers and long-time fans of the series.

1. The Icewind Dale Trilogy:
– The Crystal Shard (1988)
– Streams of Silver (1989)
– The Halfling’s Gem (1990)

The Icewind Dale Trilogy introduces readers to the drow ranger, Drizzt Do’Urden, as he emerges from the Underdark, a subterranean world inhabited by dark elves. Set in the frozen tundra of Icewind Dale, these books follow Drizzt’s journey as he forms alliances, battles deadly foes, and faces the prejudices of the surface world.

2. The Dark Elf Trilogy:
– Homeland (1990)
– Exile (1990)
– Sojourn (1991)

The Dark Elf Trilogy delves into Drizzt’s past, exploring his upbringing in the drow city of Menzoberranzan and his eventual escape to the surface world. These books provide a deeper understanding of Drizzt’s character and the complex society of the dark elves.

3. The Legacy of the Drow Series:
– The Legacy (1992)
– Starless Night (1993)
– Siege of Darkness (1994)
– Passage to Dawn (1996)

The Legacy of the Drow series continues Drizzt’s adventures as he confronts the manipulative drow society and embarks on epic quests that shape the fate of the Forgotten Realms. These books introduce new allies and enemies, and reveal the true extent of Drizzt’s skills and powers.

4. Paths of Darkness Series:
– The Silent Blade (1998)
– The Spine of the World (1999)
– Sea of Swords (2001)

The Paths of Darkness series follows Drizzt and his companions as they face new challenges and confront old adversaries. These books delve into the personal struggles and growth of the characters, as well as the consequences of their actions.

5. The Hunter’s Blades Trilogy:
– The Thousand Orcs (2002)
– The Lone Drow (2003)
– The Two Swords (2004)

The Hunter’s Blades Trilogy sees Drizzt and his friends embarking on a dangerous mission to save their homeland from an invasion of orc hordes. These books are filled with epic battles, political intrigue, and the constant threat of war.

6. The Transitions Series:
– The Orc King (2007)
– The Pirate King (2008)
– The Ghost King (2009)

The Transitions series follows Drizzt and his companions as they navigate a changing world filled with new alliances and old enemies. These books explore the consequences of past actions and the challenges of forging a new future.

7. The Neverwinter Saga:
– Gauntlgrym (2010)
– Neverwinter (2011)
– Charon’s Claw (2012)
– The Last Threshold (2013)

The Neverwinter Saga takes place after the events of the Transitions series and follows Drizzt as he becomes embroiled in the political struggles of the city of Neverwinter. These books introduce new characters and delve into the complexities of power and loyalty.

8. The Sundering Series:
– The Companions (2013)
– The Godborn (2013)
– The Adversary (2013)
– The Reaver (2014)
– The Sentinel (2014)
– The Herald (2014)

The Sundering series is a six-book collaboration between various authors, including R.A. Salvatore. It is a major event in the Forgotten Realms universe and follows the consequences of the Spellplague, a cataclysmic event that reshapes the world. These books tie in with other novels and storylines in the Forgotten Realms setting.

9. The Homecoming Series:
– Archmage (2015)
– Maestro (2016)
– Hero (2016)

The Homecoming series continues Drizzt’s story as he faces new challenges and confronts his past. These books explore themes of redemption, sacrifice, and the enduring power of friendship.


Q: Do I need to read the Drizzt books in order?
A: While each book can be enjoyed as a standalone story, reading the Drizzt books in order allows for a richer understanding of the characters and their development over time. It is recommended to start with The Icewind Dale Trilogy and proceed chronologically.

Q: How many Drizzt books are there?
A: As of 2021, there are over 35 books in the Drizzt series, with more planned for future release.

Q: Can I read the Drizzt books if I’m new to the Forgotten Realms?
A: Absolutely! While knowledge of the Forgotten Realms setting can enhance the reading experience, the Drizzt books are accessible for newcomers. They provide enough context and world-building to immerse readers in the story.

Q: Are there any graphic novels or adaptations of the Drizzt books?
A: Yes, there are graphic novel adaptations of several Drizzt books, including The Crystal Shard, Homeland, and Exile. These adaptations bring the characters and adventures to life through stunning artwork.

In conclusion, the Drizzt books offer a captivating and expansive fantasy world filled with memorable characters and thrilling adventures. Whether you are a long-time fan or new to the series, diving into the Drizzt books in order will take you on an epic journey through the Forgotten Realms. So grab your sword, join Drizzt Do’Urden, and prepare to be spellbound by this beloved series.

Scroll to Top