Warhammer Books Where to Start

Warhammer Books: Where to Start

The world of Warhammer is a vast and immersive universe, filled with epic battles, mythical creatures, and intricate storytelling. With so many books available, it can be overwhelming for newcomers to know where to start. In this article, we will guide you through the various Warhammer series and provide recommendations on where to begin your journey. Additionally, we have included a FAQs section to address common queries regarding Warhammer books.

The Warhammer Universe

The Warhammer universe is divided into two main settings: Warhammer Fantasy and Warhammer 40,000 (often abbreviated as 40K). Warhammer Fantasy takes place in a medieval-inspired world where various factions battle for dominance, while Warhammer 40,000 is set in the far future, where humanity fights against alien races and chaos.

Warhammer Fantasy Books

If you are interested in exploring the world of Warhammer Fantasy, the first series you should consider is the Gotrek & Felix novels by William King. These books follow the adventures of Gotrek, a Dwarf Slayer, and his human companion Felix Jaeger. They provide a great introduction to the Warhammer Fantasy world and are highly regarded for their action-packed narratives.

Another popular series in the Warhammer Fantasy realm is the End Times series, which serves as a culmination of the setting’s lore. It provides a thrilling conclusion to the world of Warhammer Fantasy and sets the stage for the Age of Sigmar, a newer setting introduced by Games Workshop.

Warhammer 40,000 Books

For those interested in the futuristic setting of Warhammer 40,000, the Horus Heresy series is a fantastic starting point. This series delves into the origins of the 40K universe and explores the Great Crusade and the betrayal of Warmaster Horus. Written by multiple authors, the Horus Heresy series offers a vast collection of books that provide in-depth lore and captivating storylines.

Another notable series within the Warhammer 40,000 universe is the Gaunt’s Ghosts novels by Dan Abnett. These books follow the Tanith First and Only, a regiment of Imperial Guardsmen, as they fight against various threats. The series is highly regarded for its gritty and realistic portrayal of warfare in the 40K universe.


Q: Do I need to be familiar with the Warhammer games to enjoy the books?

A: While having some knowledge of the Warhammer games can enhance your reading experience, it is not necessary. The books are written in a way that allows newcomers to immerse themselves in the world without prior gaming experience.

Q: Can I jump into the Warhammer series at any point, or should I read them in a specific order?

A: Most Warhammer series can be enjoyed as standalone stories, but some do have chronological order. It is recommended to start with the first book of a particular series, especially if it is a continuous narrative like the Horus Heresy series.

Q: Are there any Warhammer books suitable for younger readers?

A: While Warhammer books are often targeted towards mature audiences, there are some young adult novels available. The Warhammer Adventures series offers age-appropriate stories set in both the Warhammer Fantasy and Warhammer 40,000 settings.

Q: Can I read Warhammer books without any prior knowledge of the lore?

A: Absolutely! The books provide ample information about the setting and its various factions, allowing readers to dive into the world of Warhammer even without prior knowledge.

In conclusion, Warhammer books offer a captivating and immersive experience for fans of both fantasy and science fiction. Whether you choose to explore the medieval world of Warhammer Fantasy or the futuristic setting of Warhammer 40,000, there are numerous series and standalone novels to choose from. By starting with recommended series like Gotrek & Felix or the Horus Heresy, newcomers can easily dive into the rich lore and epic battles of the Warhammer universe. Happy reading!

Scroll to Top