How to Read Witcher Books

Title: How to Read Witcher Books: A Comprehensive Guide for Fans


The Witcher series, written by Polish author Andrzej Sapkowski, has captivated readers worldwide with its rich fantasy world and complex characters. With the immense success of the video game adaptations, the franchise has garnered a massive fan following. However, many fans still prefer to delve into the original source material – the Witcher books. This guide aims to provide a comprehensive overview of how to read Witcher books, including essential tips and frequently asked questions.

1. Understanding the Witcher Saga:

The Witcher saga consists of eight books, including two short story collections and five novels. It is important to read them in the correct order to fully appreciate the overarching narrative. The suggested reading order is as follows:

– “The Last Wish” (Short Story Collection)
– “Sword of Destiny” (Short Story Collection)
– “Blood of Elves” (Novel)
– “Time of Contempt” (Novel)
– “Baptism of Fire” (Novel)
– “The Tower of Swallows” (Novel)
– “Lady of the Lake” (Novel)
– “Season of Storms” (Standalone Novel, prequel)

2. Dive into the Short Story Collections:

“The Last Wish” and “Sword of Destiny” serve as the foundation for the Witcher saga. These collections introduce the readers to Geralt of Rivia, the protagonist, and set the stage for the events that unfold in the subsequent novels. The short stories provide valuable insights into Geralt’s character, the world’s lore, and the intricate relationships he forges.

3. Embrace the Novels:

Once you have familiarized yourself with the short stories, it is time to delve into the five novels. These books continue the story from where the short stories left off and explore Geralt’s journey, the political landscape, and the looming threat of war. The novels delve deeper into the complex relationships between characters and offer a more comprehensive understanding of the Witcher universe.

4. Consider the Prequel:

While not essential, “Season of Storms” can be read after the main saga. It serves as a prequel to the events in “The Last Wish” and provides additional context to Geralt’s adventures. It is advisable to read it last as it offers a fresh insight into the Witcher’s earlier exploits.


Q1. Can I start with the novels directly, skipping the short story collections?
A1. While it is possible, we highly recommend starting with “The Last Wish” and “Sword of Destiny” as they lay the groundwork for the main saga, adding depth and context to the characters and world.

Q2. Should I play the video games before reading the books?
A2. The video games offer a unique experience, but they are not necessary to understand the books. However, playing the games can enhance your overall appreciation of the Witcher universe.

Q3. Are the books similar to the TV series adaptation?
A3. The TV series adaptation draws inspiration primarily from the books. While some creative liberties have been taken, the core essence of the books is preserved. Reading the books will provide a more detailed and immersive experience.

Q4. Is the Witcher saga suitable for young readers?
A4. The Witcher books are intended for mature audiences due to their dark themes, violence, and sexual content. Parents should use their discretion before allowing younger readers to delve into the series.


Reading the Witcher books is a rewarding experience for fans of fantasy and adventure. Following the suggested reading order and starting with the short story collections will provide a solid foundation for fully immersing yourself in the Witcher universe. The novels expand on the characters and their journeys, while the prequel offers added insight. Whether you are a fan of the video games or the TV series, the books offer a unique and enriching experience. So grab a copy, prepare to be enthralled, and embark on an unforgettable journey with Geralt of Rivia.

Scroll to Top