How to Read Rick Riordan Books in Order

How to Read Rick Riordan Books in Order: A Guide for Fans

Rick Riordan is a renowned author known for his captivating young adult novels that incorporate mythology and adventure. With multiple series and several stand-alone books under his belt, it can be a bit overwhelming to figure out the correct order in which to read his books. In this article, we will guide you through the process of reading Rick Riordan books in order and provide answers to some frequently asked questions.

1. Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series:
– The Lightning Thief
– The Sea of Monsters
– The Titan’s Curse
– The Battle of the Labyrinth
– The Last Olympian

2. The Heroes of Olympus Series:
– The Lost Hero
– The Son of Neptune
– The Mark of Athena
– The House of Hades
– The Blood of Olympus

3. The Trials of Apollo Series:
– The Hidden Oracle
– The Dark Prophecy
– The Burning Maze
– The Tyrant’s Tomb
– The Tower of Nero

4. The Kane Chronicles Series:
– The Red Pyramid
– The Throne of Fire
– The Serpent’s Shadow

5. Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard Series:
– The Sword of Summer
– The Hammer of Thor
– The Ship of the Dead

6. The Trials of Apollo/Perseus Jackson Crossover Series:
– The Hidden Oracle (also part of The Trials of Apollo Series)
– The Dark Prophecy (also part of The Trials of Apollo Series)
– The Burning Maze (also part of The Trials of Apollo Series)
– The Tower of Nero (also part of The Trials of Apollo Series)

7. Stand-alone Novels:
– The Demigod Files (a collection of short stories)
– Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods (a companion guide)
– Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes (a companion guide)
– The Son of Sobek (a crossover with The Kane Chronicles)
– The Staff of Serapis (a crossover with The Kane Chronicles)
– The Crown of Ptolemy (a crossover with The Kane Chronicles)


Q1. Do I need to read Rick Riordan books in a specific order?
A1. While each series can be read independently, it is highly recommended to read them in order. The events and characters from previous books often carry over into subsequent ones, enhancing the overall reading experience.

Q2. Are Rick Riordan’s books suitable for all ages?
A2. Rick Riordan’s books are primarily written for young adults, but they can be enjoyed by readers of all ages. The engaging storytelling, relatable characters, and fascinating mythological elements make his books appealing to a wide audience.

Q3. Can I skip the stand-alone novels and companion guides?
A3. The stand-alone novels and companion guides provide additional depth and background information to the main series. While they are not essential to understanding the main storyline, they offer valuable insights into the mythology and enrich the overall reading experience.

Q4. What if I want to read only one series?
A4. Each series can be enjoyed independently, as they follow different sets of characters and have their own unique storylines. However, if you decide to read only one series, it is still recommended to start with the first book of that particular series to fully immerse yourself in the world created by Rick Riordan.

Q5. Are there any additional books or series planned by Rick Riordan?
A5. Rick Riordan continues to expand his universe by introducing new series and characters. He has also collaborated with other authors to create crossover novels. It is always a good idea to stay updated with the latest releases and announcements from the author.

In conclusion, reading Rick Riordan books in order enhances the overall reading experience and allows you to fully appreciate the interconnectedness of his storytelling. Whether you choose to embark on the adventures of Percy Jackson or dive into the world of Magnus Chase, Rick Riordan’s books are sure to captivate and entertain readers of all ages. So grab a book, immerse yourself in mythology, and get ready for an epic ride!

Scroll to Top