How Many True Blood Books Are There

How Many True Blood Books Are There?

True Blood, a popular American television series, captivated audiences with its unique blend of supernatural creatures, romance, and suspense. However, what many people may not be aware of is that the show was actually based on a book series called The Southern Vampire Mysteries, written by Charlaine Harris. In this article, we will explore how many True Blood books are there and provide a FAQ section for avid fans of the series.

The Southern Vampire Mysteries, also known as the Sookie Stackhouse Novels, is a collection of thirteen books that served as the foundation for the True Blood television series. The books were published between 2001 and 2013, with each installment delving deeper into the world of vampires, shape-shifters, werewolves, and other supernatural beings.

The series follows the life of Sookie Stackhouse, a telepathic waitress living in the fictional town of Bon Temps, Louisiana. As the story unfolds, Sookie becomes entangled in a world filled with danger, intrigue, and romance. The books not only explore Sookie’s relationships with various supernatural entities but also shed light on the societal implications of their existence.

Now, let’s take a closer look at each book in The Southern Vampire Mysteries:

1. Dead Until Dark (2001)
2. Living Dead in Dallas (2002)
3. Club Dead (2003)
4. Dead to the World (2004)
5. Dead as a Doornail (2005)
6. Definitely Dead (2006)
7. All Together Dead (2007)
8. From Dead to Worse (2008)
9. Dead and Gone (2009)
10. Dead in the Family (2010)
11. Dead Reckoning (2011)
12. Deadlocked (2012)
13. Dead Ever After (2013)

The books offer a thrilling and addictive reading experience, with each installment building upon the events of the previous one. Fans of the True Blood television series will find themselves immersed in the original source material, uncovering new layers of the story and gaining deeper insights into the characters they have come to love.


Q: Is the True Blood television series faithful to the books?
A: While the television series drew inspiration from the books, it did take some creative liberties and deviated from the original storyline. However, both the books and the television show share the same core characters and themes.

Q: Can I start reading the books if I haven’t watched the True Blood series?
A: Absolutely! The books can be enjoyed independently of the television series. The author, Charlaine Harris, provides enough background information to help readers understand the world and characters without prior knowledge of the show.

Q: Are there any spin-off books related to The Southern Vampire Mysteries?
A: Yes, Charlaine Harris has written a few spin-off books that are set in the same universe as The Southern Vampire Mysteries. These include the Harper Connelly series and the Midnight, Texas series.

Q: Will there be any more books in The Southern Vampire Mysteries series?
A: As of now, Charlaine Harris has stated that she does not have any plans to continue the series. However, she has not entirely ruled out the possibility of revisiting the characters in the future.

In conclusion, The Southern Vampire Mysteries, also known as the True Blood books, consist of thirteen thrilling installments that served as the inspiration for the popular television series. Whether you are a fan of the show or simply enjoy supernatural fiction, these books are sure to captivate and entertain. So, grab a copy and immerse yourself in the enchanting world of Sookie Stackhouse and her encounters with the supernatural.

Scroll to Top