How Many Lincoln Lawyer Books Are There

How Many Lincoln Lawyer Books Are There?

The Lincoln Lawyer series is a popular collection of legal thriller novels written by American author Michael Connelly. Centered around the character of Mickey Haller, a defense attorney who conducts much of his work from the back seat of his Lincoln Town Car, these books have captivated readers with their gripping plots and well-developed characters. In this article, we will explore how many Lincoln Lawyer books there are and provide some additional information about the series.

The Lincoln Lawyer series currently consists of six books. The first novel, titled “The Lincoln Lawyer,” was published in 2005 and introduced readers to Mickey Haller. This initial installment was an instant success and gained critical acclaim, propelling Connelly to new heights of popularity. The book was also adapted into a film in 2011, starring Matthew McConaughey in the lead role.

Following the success of the first book, Connelly continued to develop the character of Mickey Haller, and readers were eager for more of his legal adventures. This led to the release of the second book in the series, titled “The Brass Verdict,” in 2008. In this novel, Haller is faced with the challenge of representing a high-profile client while also dealing with personal issues.

The third book in the series, “The Reversal,” was published in 2010. In this installment, Mickey Haller teams up with his half-brother, Harry Bosch, who is a detective in the Los Angeles Police Department. This collaboration between two beloved characters from different Connelly series delighted fans and further expanded the appeal of the Lincoln Lawyer books.

The fourth book, titled “The Fifth Witness,” was released in 2011, followed by “The Gods of Guilt” in 2013, and “The Law of Innocence” in 2020. Each book in the series offers a unique and thrilling storyline, keeping readers on the edge of their seats as they follow Mickey Haller’s legal battles and personal struggles.


1. Will there be more Lincoln Lawyer books in the future?

As of now, Michael Connelly has not announced any plans for additional Lincoln Lawyer books. However, considering the popularity of the series and the enduring appeal of the character of Mickey Haller, it is possible that Connelly may continue to write more books in the future.

2. Can the Lincoln Lawyer books be read as standalone novels, or is it necessary to read them in order?

While each book in the Lincoln Lawyer series can be enjoyed as a standalone novel, reading them in order will provide a more comprehensive understanding of Mickey Haller’s character development and personal journey. Additionally, there are references to events from previous books that may enhance the reading experience if read in chronological order.

3. Are the Lincoln Lawyer books suitable for all readers?

The Lincoln Lawyer series is primarily targeted towards fans of legal thrillers and crime fiction. The books contain elements of violence, adult language, and mature themes. Therefore, they may not be suitable for younger readers or those who are sensitive to such content.

4. Are there any plans for a sequel to the Lincoln Lawyer film?

As of now, there have been no official announcements regarding a sequel to the 2011 film adaptation of “The Lincoln Lawyer.” However, given the success of the first film and the continued popularity of the book series, it is possible that a sequel may be considered in the future.

In conclusion, the Lincoln Lawyer series currently consists of six books, each offering thrilling legal narratives featuring the charismatic defense attorney Mickey Haller. Whether you are a fan of legal thrillers or simply enjoy well-crafted storytelling, these books are sure to keep you entertained and engrossed until the very last page.

Scroll to Top