How Many Giver Books Are There

How Many Giver Books Are There?

The Giver, written by Lois Lowry, is a renowned dystopian novel that has captured the hearts and minds of readers across the globe. Since its publication in 1993, the book has gained immense popularity and critical acclaim, leading many to wonder just how many books are in the Giver series. In this article, we will explore the various books in the Giver series, their significance, and answer some frequently asked questions about the series.

1. The Giver (1993):
The Giver, the first book in the series, introduces readers to a seemingly utopian society where everything is perfectly controlled and ordered. The protagonist, Jonas, is chosen to become the community’s Receiver of Memory, a role that exposes him to the secrets and emotions of the past. As he uncovers the truth behind his society’s facade, Jonas embarks on a journey to challenge the status quo and bring change to his world.

2. Gathering Blue (2000):
Gathering Blue is the second book in the Giver series, although it is not a direct sequel to the first novel. This book introduces a new protagonist, Kira, who lives in a different society ravaged by poverty and inequality. Kira possesses a unique talent for weaving, which grants her a special place in her community. As Kira unravels the mysteries of her world, she discovers the power of hope and resilience amidst adversity.

3. Messenger (2004):
Messenger is the third book in the Giver series and acts as a direct sequel to both The Giver and Gathering Blue. It brings together characters from the previous two books and further explores the themes of community, sacrifice, and interconnectedness. The story revolves around Matty, a young boy who must embark on a dangerous journey to save his village from destruction. Messenger delves into deeper philosophical questions and serves as a bridge between the previous books and the series’ finale.

4. Son (2012):
Son is the fourth and final book in the Giver series. It reunites readers with the original protagonist, Jonas, as well as Kira and Matty from the previous books. This concluding installment provides closure to the series, revealing the ultimate fate of the characters and tying up loose ends. Son explores the concept of motherhood and the lengths one would go to protect their loved ones. It offers a satisfying conclusion to the series, leaving readers with a sense of fulfillment and reflection.


1. Is it necessary to read all the books in the Giver series in order?
While each book in the Giver series can be enjoyed independently, reading them in order enhances the overall experience. The books build upon one another, introducing new characters and expanding the world established in the first novel. Reading them in sequence allows readers to fully grasp the intricate connections and thematic development throughout the series.

2. Are there any plans for additional Giver books?
As of now, there are no official announcements regarding new additions to the Giver series. However, Lois Lowry has expressed her fondness for the characters and the world she created, leaving the possibility open for future exploration. Fans of the series eagerly await any updates or news of potential future installments.

3. Can the Giver series be enjoyed by readers of all ages?
The Giver series is often classified as young adult literature, but it has a universal appeal that transcends age boundaries. The themes and messages explored in the series, such as individuality, societal control, and the power of memories, resonate with readers of all ages. The books provide thought-provoking narratives that encourage introspection and critical thinking.

4. Will there be a film adaptation of the entire Giver series?
Currently, only the first book, The Giver, has been adapted into a film released in 2014. While there have been talks of potential adaptations of the subsequent books, no concrete plans have been announced. Fans of the series hope to see the entire Giver series brought to life on the big screen in the future.

In conclusion, the Giver series consists of four books: The Giver, Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son. Each book offers a unique perspective on dystopian societies, exploring themes of control, resilience, and hope. While the books can be enjoyed independently, reading them in order provides a more comprehensive experience. The Giver series has captivated readers of all ages and continues to be a beloved literary masterpiece.

Scroll to Top