How Many Drizzt Books Are There

How Many Drizzt Books Are There?

Drizzt Do’Urden, the iconic dark elf character created by author R.A. Salvatore, has captured the hearts of fantasy readers for decades. Known for his incredible fighting skills, moral compass, and complex personality, Drizzt has become one of the most beloved characters in the fantasy genre. If you are a fan of Drizzt’s adventures, you might be wondering just how many books are there in his series. In this article, we will explore the extensive library of Drizzt books and answer some frequently asked questions about this enduring character.

The Legend of Drizzt series is a subseries of the larger Forgotten Realms franchise, which is set in the Dungeons & Dragons campaign setting. R.A. Salvatore introduced Drizzt in his first novel, “The Crystal Shard,” published in 1988. Since then, the series has expanded to include numerous novels, short stories, and graphic novels. The books chronicle Drizzt’s life and adventures in the fictional world of Faerûn, a land filled with magic, monsters, and political intrigue.

As of 2021, there are a staggering 37 novels in the Legend of Drizzt series. These novels are divided into multiple trilogies and story arcs, each providing a unique chapter in Drizzt’s ongoing saga. Some of the most popular trilogies include “The Dark Elf Trilogy,” “The Icewind Dale Trilogy,” and “The Legacy of the Drow.” Each trilogy explores different aspects of Drizzt’s life and introduces new characters and challenges along the way.

In addition to the novels, there are also several short stories and graphic novels featuring Drizzt as the main protagonist. These shorter works provide additional depth to the character and allow readers to delve into specific moments or events in his life. Some of the short stories can be found in anthologies, while others have been published as standalone works.

Apart from the main series, there are also a few spin-off novels that focus on other characters within the Forgotten Realms universe. These spin-offs often intersect with Drizzt’s story, providing a broader context for the events taking place in the world. Some notable spin-off novels include “The Cleric Quintet” featuring the character Cadderly Bonaduce and “The Sellswords Trilogy” centered around the mercenary duo Artemis Entreri and Jarlaxle.


Q: In what order should I read the Drizzt books?
A: While the books can be read in publication order, it is recommended to follow the chronological order of the events in Drizzt’s life. The series begins with “The Dark Elf Trilogy” and then moves on to “The Icewind Dale Trilogy.” From there, readers can continue with “The Legacy of the Drow” and follow the subsequent trilogies in order.

Q: How long is the Drizzt series?
A: The Drizzt series is an ongoing project, and R.A. Salvatore continues to write new novels featuring the character. As of now, the series consists of 37 novels, with more expected to be released in the future.

Q: Are the Drizzt books suitable for young readers?
A: The Drizzt books are generally considered appropriate for young adult readers and above. However, it is important to note that the series does contain violence and some mature themes. Parents should use their discretion when considering these books for younger readers.

Q: Can I read the Drizzt books as standalone novels?
A: While it is possible to read some of the books as standalone novels, it is highly recommended to read them in order. The series follows a continuous narrative, and each book builds upon the events and character development of the previous ones.

Q: Will there be more Drizzt books in the future?
A: Yes, R.A. Salvatore has confirmed that he plans to continue writing Drizzt novels. Fans can look forward to more adventures featuring their favorite dark elf in the coming years.

In conclusion, the Legend of Drizzt series is a vast and immersive collection of novels that has captivated fantasy readers for over three decades. With 37 novels, numerous short stories, and graphic novels, the series offers a rich and detailed exploration of Drizzt Do’Urden’s life and adventures. Whether you are a longtime fan or a newcomer to the series, there is no shortage of exciting and thrilling tales to enjoy in the world of Drizzt.

Scroll to Top