How Many Books of Outlander Are There

How Many Books of Outlander Are There?

Outlander, a popular historical fiction series written by Diana Gabaldon, has captivated readers worldwide with its compelling characters, intricate plotlines, and breathtaking settings. Since the release of the first book in 1991, the series has gained an enormous following, prompting many readers to wonder, “How many books of Outlander are there?” This article aims to unravel the mystery behind the number of books in the Outlander series, as well as answer some frequently asked questions about the series.

The Outlander series currently consists of eight main novels, with several additional spin-off novellas and companion books. Diana Gabaldon has meticulously crafted a vast and immersive world that spans across centuries, blending elements of historical fiction, romance, adventure, and fantasy. Each book delves deeper into the lives of the main characters, Claire Randall and Jamie Fraser, as they navigate through various trials and tribulations.

Here is a list of the eight main novels in the Outlander series, in order of publication:

1. Outlander (1991): This book introduces readers to Claire Randall, an English nurse who mysteriously travels back in time from 1945 to 1743. She finds herself caught in the midst of political upheaval in Scotland and becomes entangled with the dashing Highlander, Jamie Fraser.

2. Dragonfly in Amber (1992): Claire and Jamie’s journey continues as they attempt to change the course of history and prevent the disastrous Battle of Culloden. The book alternates between 1968, where Claire is trying to find her way back to Jamie, and 1744, where their lives take unexpected turns.

3. Voyager (1993): After a twenty-year separation, Claire discovers that Jamie survived the Battle of Culloden. Determined to find him, she embarks on a perilous journey across time, encountering new challenges and revelations along the way.

4. Drums of Autumn (1996): Claire and Jamie, now settled in the American colonies, face the complexities of building a new life while navigating the tumultuous events leading up to the American Revolution. Their daughter, Brianna, also plays a significant role in this installment.

5. The Fiery Cross (2001): Set against the backdrop of the American colonies on the verge of revolution, this book delves deeper into the relationships and conflicts of the Fraser family, as well as their interactions with historical figures of the time.

6. A Breath of Snow and Ashes (2005): As tensions rise between the colonists and the British crown, Claire and Jamie must navigate through dangerous situations and protect their loved ones. This book provides a gripping account of their struggles during the American Revolution.

7. An Echo in the Bone (2009): The seventh book in the series takes readers on a tumultuous journey, intertwining the lives of the Frasers and the Mackenzies in Scotland and America. The story is filled with political intrigue, time travel, and unexpected reunions.

8. Written in My Own Heart’s Blood (2014): This book focuses on the aftermath of the American Revolution and the challenges faced by the Fraser family as they strive to rebuild their lives amidst the chaos of war.

In addition to the main novels, Diana Gabaldon has also written several novellas and companion books that provide further insights into the Outlander universe. These include “A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows,” “The Space Between,” “Virgins,” and “The Exile: An Outlander Graphic Novel,” among others.


1. Are there any more books planned for the Outlander series?
Diana Gabaldon has confirmed that there will be a ninth book in the Outlander series, titled “Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone.” However, the release date for this book has yet to be announced.

2. Can the Outlander books be read as standalone novels?
While each book in the series contains its own distinct narratives, it is highly recommended to read them in chronological order. The overarching storyline and character development are best understood when read in sequence.

3. Are there any plans for a television adaptation of the entire Outlander series?
As of now, the television series adaptation of Outlander, which premiered in 2014, has covered the events of the first six books. There are plans to continue the series and adapt the remaining novels, but no official announcements have been made regarding the completion of the television adaptation.

In conclusion, the Outlander series currently consists of eight main novels, with additional novellas and companion books. Diana Gabaldon has created a captivating world that has enthralled readers for decades. Whether you are a fan of historical fiction, romance, or simply enjoy a well-crafted story, the Outlander series is sure to transport you to a different time and leave you eagerly awaiting the next installment.

Scroll to Top