How Many Books in the Selection Series

How Many Books in the Selection Series?

The Selection Series, written by Kiera Cass, is a popular young adult dystopian romance series that has captivated readers around the world. With its intriguing storyline and captivating characters, fans of the series often wonder how many books are in the Selection Series. In this article, we will explore the number of books in the series and provide answers to some frequently asked questions.

The Selection Series currently consists of five main books, along with several additional novellas and spin-off novels. Let’s take a closer look at each book in the series:

1. The Selection (2012): The series begins with this novel, where we are introduced to the protagonist, America Singer, who is chosen to participate in a competition known as the Selection. Thirty-five girls from different social classes compete for the heart of Prince Maxon, the heir to the throne of Illéa.

2. The Elite (2013): The second book continues America’s journey in the Selection. As the competition intensifies, America finds herself torn between her growing feelings for Prince Maxon and her previous relationship with Aspen, a boy from her hometown.

3. The One (2014): This third installment brings America’s story to a climax. As the Selection nears its end, America must make a decision that will not only affect her own future but also the fate of Illéa.

4. The Heir (2015): In this fourth book, the focus shifts to a new protagonist, Princess Eadlyn, America and Maxon’s daughter. Eadlyn faces her own Selection, as she must choose a husband from a group of suitors to secure her place as future queen.

5. The Crown (2016): The final book in the series concludes the story of Eadlyn as she navigates the challenges of ruling a kingdom and finding true love.

In addition to the main books, there are also several novellas and spin-off novels that expand the Selection Series universe:

– The Prince and The Guard (2014): These novellas provide readers with a glimpse into Prince Maxon’s life before and during the Selection process.

– The Favorite (2015): This novella gives readers a deeper understanding of Marlee, one of the contestants in the Selection.

– Happily Ever After (2015): This collection features all the novellas mentioned above, along with bonus content and extra scenes from the series.

– The Siren (2016): While not directly connected to the Selection Series, this standalone novel by Kiera Cass is often considered a spin-off due to its similar themes and writing style.


Q: Is there a movie adaptation of the Selection Series?
A: As of now, there is no official movie adaptation of the Selection Series. However, there have been talks and rumors about potential adaptations in the future.

Q: Are there any plans for future books in the Selection Series?
A: As of now, Kiera Cass has not announced any plans for additional books in the Selection Series. However, she has mentioned the possibility of writing more spin-offs or novellas in the future.

Q: Can the Selection Series be read as standalone novels, or is it necessary to read them in order?
A: While each book in the Selection Series can be enjoyed as a standalone novel, it is highly recommended to read them in order to fully understand the characters’ development and the overall plot arc.

Q: What age group is the Selection Series suitable for?
A: The Selection Series is primarily targeted towards young adult readers. However, due to its engaging storyline and relatable characters, readers of various age groups can enjoy the series.

In conclusion, the Selection Series consists of five main books, along with several novellas and spin-off novels. With its captivating storyline and well-developed characters, this series has gained a loyal following. Whether you’re a fan of dystopian romance or simply looking for an engaging read, the Selection Series is definitely worth exploring.

Scroll to Top