How Many Books in the Protestant Bible

How Many Books in the Protestant Bible?

The Protestant Bible is a collection of religious texts that is widely followed by Protestant Christians. It is slightly different from the Catholic and Orthodox Bibles, as it contains fewer books. In this article, we will explore the number of books in the Protestant Bible, their divisions, and answer some frequently asked questions about this sacred text.

The Protestant Bible consists of two main sections: the Old Testament and the New Testament. The Old Testament contains books that are also present in the Jewish Bible, known as the Tanakh. However, the order and grouping of the books may differ between the Jewish Bible and the Protestant Old Testament. The New Testament, on the other hand, focuses on the life, teachings, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ.

Old Testament:
The Old Testament in the Protestant Bible consists of 39 books. These books are divided into several categories, including the Law, Historical Books, Wisdom Books, and the Prophets.

1. The Law (Torah): This section includes the first five books of the Bible, which are Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. They contain the foundation of the Jewish religion and are considered sacred texts by both Jews and Christians.

2. Historical Books: The Historical Books in the Old Testament include Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 Samuel, 2 Samuel, 1 Kings, 2 Kings, 1 Chronicles, 2 Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, and Esther. These books provide a historical account of the Israelites and their journey.

3. Wisdom Books: The Wisdom Books include Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, and Song of Solomon. These books contain poetic and philosophical reflections on life, wisdom, and God’s relationship with humanity.

4. Prophets: The Prophets are further divided into Major Prophets (Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel, and Daniel) and Minor Prophets (Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi). These books contain prophecies, visions, and messages from God delivered through various prophets.

New Testament:
The New Testament in the Protestant Bible consists of 27 books. It focuses on the life, teachings, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ, as well as the early Christian community and its teachings.

1. The Gospels: The New Testament begins with the four Gospels – Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. These books provide accounts of Jesus’ life, teachings, miracles, and crucifixion.

2. Acts: The book of Acts, written by Luke, describes the early Christian community, the spread of Christianity, and the ministry of the apostles.

3. Epistles: The Epistles, also known as Letters, are written by various authors, including Paul, Peter, James, John, and Jude. They address theological concerns, provide guidance to early Christian communities, and offer advice on Christian living.

4. Revelation: The final book of the New Testament is Revelation, also known as the Apocalypse. It contains visions and prophecies regarding the end times, the final judgment, and the establishment of God’s kingdom.


Q: How does the Protestant Bible differ from the Catholic and Orthodox Bibles?
A: The main difference lies in the number of books. The Protestant Bible has 66 books, while the Catholic Bible has 73 and the Orthodox Bible has 78. The additional books in the Catholic and Orthodox Bibles are known as the Deuterocanonical books, which are considered canonical by these traditions but not by Protestants.

Q: Why do Protestants have fewer books in their Bible?
A: During the Protestant Reformation in the 16th century, reformers like Martin Luther challenged the authority of some books in the Catholic Bible. They believed that these books did not have sufficient historical evidence or were not consistent with their understanding of Scripture. As a result, they excluded these books from the Protestant Bible.

Q: Can Protestants read the additional books found in the Catholic and Orthodox Bibles?
A: Yes, Protestants can read these books for historical or devotional purposes. However, they are not considered part of the canon or authoritative Scripture by most Protestant denominations.

In conclusion, the Protestant Bible consists of 66 books, divided into the Old Testament and the New Testament. While it shares many books with the Jewish Bible, it has fewer books compared to the Catholic and Orthodox Bibles. The Protestant Bible serves as a sacred text and a source of guidance for millions of Protestant Christians worldwide.

Scroll to Top