How Many Books Are There in the Outlander Series

How Many Books Are There in the Outlander Series?

The Outlander series, written by Diana Gabaldon, has captivated readers around the world with its unique blend of romance, time travel, and historical fiction. With its compelling narrative and richly developed characters, it’s no wonder that fans are eager to know just how many books are there in the Outlander series. In this article, we will explore the extensive collection of novels and novellas that make up this beloved series, as well as answer some frequently asked questions about it.

The Outlander series currently consists of eight main novels, with several accompanying novellas and short stories. The first book in the series, simply titled “Outlander” or “Cross Stitch” in some countries, was published in 1991. It introduced readers to Claire Randall, a British nurse from the 20th century who accidentally travels back in time to 18th-century Scotland. There, she encounters the dashing Highlander, Jamie Fraser, and embarks on a passionate and tumultuous love story.

The subsequent books in the series continue Claire and Jamie’s epic journey across various historical settings, including France, America, and the Caribbean. The titles of the main novels in chronological order are as follows: “Dragonfly in Amber,” “Voyager,” “Drums of Autumn,” “The Fiery Cross,” “A Breath of Snow and Ashes,” “An Echo in the Bone,” “Written in My Own Heart’s Blood,” and “Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone” (which is yet to be released). Each book offers a unique blend of adventure, romance, and historical accuracy, ensuring that readers are continually enthralled.

In addition to the main novels, Diana Gabaldon has also written several novellas and short stories that provide further depth and backstory to the Outlander universe. These include “The Space Between,” “A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows,” “Virgins,” and “The Custom of the Army,” among others. These shorter works often focus on side characters or events that are alluded to in the main series, allowing readers to delve deeper into the lives and experiences of their beloved Outlander characters.

The Outlander series has gained a massive following over the years, with millions of copies sold worldwide and a dedicated fan base eagerly awaiting each new installment. The books have been praised for their meticulous research, vivid descriptions, and complex character development. Diana Gabaldon’s storytelling skills have been lauded, as she seamlessly weaves together historical events with romance, time travel, and elements of fantasy. Her ability to transport readers to the past and make them feel as though they are living alongside the characters is truly remarkable.


Q: Will there be more books in the Outlander series?
A: Yes, Diana Gabaldon has confirmed that there will be at least one more book in the series titled “Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone.” However, the release date for this book has not been announced yet.

Q: Are there any plans to adapt the remaining books into TV series?
A: Yes, the Outlander TV series, produced by Starz, has been renewed for a sixth season, which will cover the events of the sixth book, “A Breath of Snow and Ashes.” It is expected that subsequent seasons will continue to adapt the remaining books in the series.

Q: Can the Outlander series be read as standalone books, or should they be read in order?
A: While each book in the series can be enjoyed on its own, it is highly recommended to read them in chronological order. The storylines and character arcs span multiple books, and reading them in order will provide a more comprehensive understanding of the overall narrative.

Q: How long is each book in the Outlander series?
A: The length of each book varies, with the page count ranging from around 600 to over 1,000 pages. These lengthy novels allow for intricate storytelling and detailed world-building, immersing readers in the Outlander universe.

In conclusion, the Outlander series is a captivating collection of novels that has enthralled readers for decades. With its blend of romance, time travel, and historical fiction, it offers a unique and immersive reading experience. With eight main novels, several novellas, and a dedicated fan base, the Outlander series continues to delight readers around the world.

Scroll to Top