How Many Books Are There in Game of Thrones

How Many Books Are There in Game of Thrones?

The Game of Thrones series, written by George R.R. Martin, has become a cultural phenomenon, capturing the hearts of millions of readers around the world. The complex and enthralling storyline has led to a massive following, both in the original book format and the subsequent television adaptation. But how many books are there in the Game of Thrones series? Let’s dive into the world of Westeros and uncover the answer.

The Game of Thrones series consists of a total of five books, with two more books yet to be released. The first book, titled “A Game of Thrones,” was published in 1996, introducing readers to the intricate world of Westeros, a land filled with political intrigue, epic battles, and mythical creatures. This book sets the stage for the ongoing power struggles between noble houses, as they vie for control of the Iron Throne.

The subsequent books in the series are as follows:

1. A Clash of Kings (1998): The second installment expands upon the events of the first book, delving deeper into the various conflicts and power dynamics.

2. A Storm of Swords (2000): Widely regarded as one of the most captivating books in the series, the third installment brings forth major plot twists, unexpected alliances, and devastating betrayals.

3. A Feast for Crows (2005): This fourth book introduces new perspectives and characters, providing a broader view of the intricate web of political machinations.

4. A Dance with Dragons (2011): The fifth book continues the complex narrative, weaving together multiple storylines and propelling the series forward.

However, fans of the series have been eagerly awaiting the release of the final two books, which will conclude the epic saga. Unfortunately, the release dates for these books, titled “The Winds of Winter” and “A Dream of Spring,” remain unknown. George R.R. Martin has been notoriously slow in completing the series, leading to frustration among fans who have been anxiously awaiting the resolution of their favorite characters’ storylines.


Q: Are the Game of Thrones books different from the TV series?
A: Yes, there are certain differences between the books and the television adaptation. While the TV series initially followed the storyline of the books, it later diverged and created its own narrative.

Q: Should I read the books if I’ve already watched the TV series?
A: Absolutely! The books offer a more in-depth exploration of the characters, their motivations, and the intricate world of Westeros. They provide additional details and storylines that were not included in the television series.

Q: Can I start reading the books without having watched the TV series?
A: Yes, the books can be enjoyed independently of the TV series. In fact, many readers argue that the books offer a more immersive experience, allowing you to create your own visualizations of the characters and settings.

Q: Are the books suitable for all ages?
A: The Game of Thrones series is known for its mature content, including violence and explicit scenes. Therefore, it is recommended for mature readers who are comfortable with such themes.

In conclusion, the Game of Thrones series currently consists of five books, with two more yet to be released. George R.R. Martin’s epic tale of power, politics, and fantasy has captivated readers worldwide, and fans eagerly await the conclusion of this iconic series. Whether you’re a fan of the TV adaptation or a newcomer to the world of Westeros, the Game of Thrones books offer a rich and engrossing reading experience that is sure to leave you craving for more.

Scroll to Top