How Many Books Are in the Protestant Old Testament

How Many Books Are in the Protestant Old Testament?

The Protestant Old Testament is a significant part of the Christian Bible, consisting of several books that are considered sacred and authoritative by Protestants. While the exact number of books may vary depending on the denomination, the majority of Protestants adhere to a canon that includes 39 books. In this article, we will explore the composition of the Protestant Old Testament and answer some frequently asked questions related to its content.

Composition of the Protestant Old Testament:

The Protestant Old Testament is divided into several sections that collectively provide a comprehensive account of the religious and historical context of ancient Israel. These sections include the Law, Historical Books, Wisdom Literature, and the Prophets.

1. The Law: Also known as the Pentateuch or the Torah, this section contains the first five books of the Bible, which are Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. These books are attributed to Moses and are considered foundational to the Jewish and Christian faiths.

2. Historical Books: This section comprises twelve books that chronicle the history of Israel from Joshua to Esther. These books include Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 Samuel, 2 Samuel, 1 Kings, 2 Kings, 1 Chronicles, 2 Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, and Esther.

3. Wisdom Literature: The Wisdom Literature section consists of five books that provide insights into the practical and philosophical aspects of life. These books are Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, and Song of Solomon.

4. The Prophets: The Prophets section is further divided into two subsections: the Major Prophets and the Minor Prophets.

a. Major Prophets: This subsection includes five books that are relatively longer and more extensive in content. The Major Prophets are Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel, and Daniel.

b. Minor Prophets: The Minor Prophets section consists of twelve books that are shorter in length compared to the Major Prophets. These books are Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi.


Q: Is the number of books in the Protestant Old Testament the same as the Catholic Old Testament?
A: No, the Catholic Old Testament contains additional books known as the Deuterocanonical books or the Apocrypha. These books include Tobit, Judith, Wisdom of Solomon, Sirach (Ecclesiasticus), Baruch, and Maccabees.

Q: Why do Protestants have a different number of books in their Old Testament?
A: The Protestant Reformation of the 16th century led to a divergence between Protestants and Catholics regarding the canon of the Old Testament. Protestants, influenced by Jewish tradition, opted to follow the Jewish canon, which excluded the Deuterocanonical books.

Q: Are all the books in the Old Testament considered equally authoritative?
A: While all the books in the Protestant Old Testament are considered sacred, there may be variations in their perceived levels of authority. For example, the Law, particularly the Ten Commandments, holds a central position in terms of its significance and authority.

Q: Are there any ancient manuscripts that contain the complete Old Testament?
A: Yes, the most notable ancient manuscript is the Codex Sinaiticus, which is one of the oldest surviving Christian Bibles. It contains the complete Old Testament, including the Deuterocanonical books, and is considered a valuable resource for biblical scholarship.

Q: Can the Old Testament be read and understood without prior knowledge of the New Testament?
A: Yes, the Old Testament can be read independently and provides crucial insights into the religious beliefs, historical context, and moral teachings of ancient Israel. However, understanding the New Testament can provide a deeper theological understanding and shed light on the fulfillment of prophecies and the significance of Jesus Christ.

In conclusion, the Protestant Old Testament consists of 39 books that are divided into several sections, including the Law, Historical Books, Wisdom Literature, and the Prophets. These books are considered sacred and authoritative by Protestants, although the number of books differs from the Catholic Old Testament. Understanding the composition of the Old Testament can provide valuable insights into the religious and historical heritage of Christianity.

Scroll to Top