How Many Books Are in the Outlander Series

How Many Books Are in the Outlander Series?

The Outlander series, written by Diana Gabaldon, has gained immense popularity since the release of its first book in 1991. Known for its unique blend of historical fiction, time travel, romance, and adventure, the series has captivated readers around the world. With its intricate plotlines and well-developed characters, it’s no wonder that fans eagerly anticipate each new installment. In this article, we will explore the number of books in the Outlander series and answer some frequently asked questions about the series.

The Outlander series currently consists of eight main novels, with several companion books and novellas as well. Here is a list of the main books in the series:

1. Outlander (1991)
2. Dragonfly in Amber (1992)
3. Voyager (1994)
4. Drums of Autumn (1997)
5. The Fiery Cross (2001)
6. A Breath of Snow and Ashes (2005)
7. An Echo in the Bone (2009)
8. Written in My Own Heart’s Blood (2014)

These main books follow the story of Claire Randall, a 20th-century nurse who travels back in time to 18th-century Scotland and becomes embroiled in the Jacobite uprisings. Each book builds upon the previous one, weaving together historical events and personal journeys that keep readers hooked.

In addition to the main novels, Diana Gabaldon has also released several companion books and novellas that provide further insights into the Outlander universe. These include:

– The Exile: An Outlander Graphic Novel (2010): A graphic novel that retells the story of the first Outlander book from the perspective of Jamie Fraser.
– A Trail of Fire (2012): A collection of four novellas featuring various characters from the Outlander series.
– The Outlandish Companion (1999, revised in 2015): A comprehensive guide to the Outlander series, including character profiles, historical background, and behind-the-scenes insights.
– The Outlandish Companion, Volume Two (2015): A continuation of the first companion book, offering even more in-depth analysis and additional content.

Now, let’s move on to some frequently asked questions about the Outlander series:


Q: Is the Outlander series finished?
A: No, the Outlander series is not yet complete. Diana Gabaldon has stated that she plans to write a total of ten main books in the series. As of now, she has released eight, with two more books still to come.

Q: Are there plans for more companion books or novellas?
A: There is no official confirmation about additional companion books or novellas at this time. However, Diana Gabaldon has previously released various shorter works that expand upon the Outlander universe, so it’s possible that more may be released in the future.

Q: Are there any spin-off series or adaptations of the Outlander series?
A: Yes, the Outlander series has been adapted into a successful television series of the same name. The TV show has garnered a large following and has been praised for its faithful adaptation of the books. It currently has several seasons available for streaming.

Q: How long does it take for Diana Gabaldon to write a new book?
A: Diana Gabaldon is known for taking several years to complete each new installment in the Outlander series. The complex nature of the books, extensive research, and the author’s meticulous attention to detail contribute to the lengthy writing process. Fans eagerly await each new book and understand that the wait is well worth it.

In conclusion, the Outlander series currently consists of eight main books, with two more still to come. Diana Gabaldon has created a captivating world that blends history, romance, and time travel, keeping readers engrossed in her intricate storytelling. With its loyal fan base and the success of the TV adaptation, the Outlander series continues to capture the hearts and imaginations of readers worldwide.

Scroll to Top