How Many Books Are in the Hobbit Series

How Many Books Are in the Hobbit Series?

The Hobbit, written by J.R.R. Tolkien, is a timeless classic that has captivated readers for generations. It is the prelude to the epic fantasy series, The Lord of the Rings, and tells the story of Bilbo Baggins’ unexpected journey. While The Hobbit is often considered a single book, there are a few aspects that might confuse readers regarding the number of books in the series. In this article, we will explore the different editions, adaptations, and clarify any doubts with a helpful FAQs section.

The Original Edition of The Hobbit:
When The Hobbit was first published in 1937, it was a standalone novel. It was initially intended for children and followed Bilbo Baggins as he embarks on an adventure with a group of dwarves to reclaim their homeland from the dragon Smaug. This original edition of The Hobbit consisted of a single book, encompassing all the events of Bilbo’s journey.

The Revised Edition:
In 1951, Tolkien revised The Hobbit to better align it with the events and mythology of The Lord of the Rings, which he had published in three volumes between 1954 and 1955. This revised edition featured various changes and additions to the original text, including the introduction of Gollum’s possession of the One Ring. Nevertheless, the revised edition remained a single book.

The Hobbit as a Trilogy:
With the rise in popularity of The Lord of the Rings following the release of Peter Jackson’s film adaptations, there was a demand for a more comprehensive and detailed adaptation of The Hobbit. In 2012, Peter Jackson released The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, the first film in a new trilogy based on The Hobbit. Subsequently, The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013) and The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies (2014) followed, completing the trilogy.

Although the films were based on a single book, Jackson expanded the story by incorporating additional material from Tolkien’s wider legendarium, such as the appendices of The Lord of the Rings. This expansion allowed for a more detailed exploration of the events in The Hobbit and bridged the gap between the two series. However, it is important to note that the films are not separate books, but rather film adaptations of a single book.


Q: How many books are in The Hobbit series?
A: The Hobbit series consists of a single book. However, there are different editions and adaptations that may create confusion.

Q: Are the three Hobbit movies separate books?
A: No, the three Hobbit movies are not separate books. They are film adaptations based on the single book, The Hobbit.

Q: Can I read The Hobbit without reading The Lord of the Rings?
A: Absolutely! The Hobbit can be read as a standalone novel and provides an excellent introduction to Tolkien’s Middle-earth. While The Lord of the Rings enhances the overall understanding of the world, it is not necessary to enjoy The Hobbit.

Q: Should I read the revised edition of The Hobbit?
A: Reading the revised edition is a matter of personal preference. If you are interested in experiencing the changes Tolkien made to align The Hobbit with The Lord of the Rings, then the revised edition is worth exploring. However, the original edition remains a beloved classic and is equally enjoyable.

In conclusion, The Hobbit series consists of a single book, available in both the original and revised editions. The trilogy of films, although based on The Hobbit, does not add separate books to the series. Whether you choose to read the original or revised edition, or enjoy the film adaptations, The Hobbit promises an enchanting journey into Tolkien’s magical world.

Scroll to Top