How Many Books Are in the Acotar Series

How Many Books Are in the ACOTAR Series?

The ACOTAR series, also known as A Court of Thorns and Roses series, is a popular fantasy series written by Sarah J. Maas. The series is set in the fictional world of Prythian and follows the journey of Feyre Archeron, a young huntress who is dragged into a dangerous faerie world. With a captivating storyline, rich world-building, and complex characters, the ACOTAR series has gained a massive fan following since its release. In this article, we will explore how many books are in the ACOTAR series and provide some frequently asked questions about the series.

1. A Court of Thorns and Roses (Book 1):
The first book in the series, A Court of Thorns and Roses, introduces readers to Feyre Archeron, a mortal girl who is forced to hunt to provide for her family. During one of her hunts, she kills a faerie disguised as a wolf and is taken captive by Tamlin, a High Fae Lord. As Feyre spends more time in the faerie realm, she discovers dark secrets and finds herself torn between her growing love for Tamlin and the mysterious High Lord of the Night Court, Rhysand.

2. A Court of Mist and Fury (Book 2):
A Court of Mist and Fury continues Feyre’s journey as she navigates the aftermath of the events in the first book. Feyre finds herself in a new world and forms an unexpected alliance that changes everything. With new alliances, political intrigue, and a love triangle, this second installment delves deeper into the complex relationships and the dark secrets of Prythian.

3. A Court of Wings and Ruin (Book 3):
A Court of Wings and Ruin is the third book in the series and continues the epic story of Feyre and her friends. As war looms on the horizon, Feyre must gather allies and face the impending darkness threatening to destroy everything she holds dear. This book is filled with intense battles, sacrifices, and shocking revelations that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

4. A Court of Frost and Starlight (Book 3.1):
A Court of Frost and Starlight is a novella that takes place after the events of A Court of Wings and Ruin. It offers a glimpse into the lives of the characters during the Winter Solstice as they try to heal and rebuild after the war. Though shorter in length, this novella provides fans with a much-needed update on their favorite characters and sets the stage for future developments.

5. A Court of Silver Flames (Book 4):
A Court of Silver Flames is the highly anticipated fourth book in the ACOTAR series. Unlike the previous books, this installment focuses on the character of Nesta Archeron, Feyre’s sister. It explores Nesta’s journey of self-discovery, healing, and finding her own place in the faerie world. This book promises a new perspective and introduces readers to new characters while also continuing the overarching storyline.


Q: Is A Court of Thorns and Roses a completed series?
A: No, the ACOTAR series is not yet completed. As of now, there are four books in the series, with the fourth book, A Court of Silver Flames, released in February 2021. Sarah J. Maas has announced that more books are planned for the series, so fans can expect further installments in the future.

Q: Can I read A Court of Frost and Starlight without reading the previous books?
A: While A Court of Frost and Starlight is a novella and can be read as a standalone, it is recommended to read the previous books in the series to fully understand the characters and their relationships. The novella also contains spoilers for the previous books, so it’s best to read them in order.

Q: Are there any spin-off books or companion novels related to the ACOTAR series?
A: Yes, there is a spin-off series called A Court of Thorns and Roses novella series, which includes novellas focusing on different characters from the main series. The first novella in the series, A Court of Thorns and Roses novella series, focuses on Feyre and Rhysand and is set after the events of A Court of Wings and Ruin.

In conclusion, the ACOTAR series currently consists of four books, with more planned for the future. Sarah J. Maas has created a captivating fantasy world filled with adventure, romance, and political intrigue that has captivated readers worldwide. Whether you’re a fan of Feyre Archeron’s journey or intrigued by the spin-off novellas, the ACOTAR series offers a rich reading experience for fantasy lovers.

Scroll to Top