How Many Books Are in Acotar

How Many Books Are in ACOTAR?

The ACOTAR series, also known as A Court of Thorns and Roses, has captivated readers worldwide with its enchanting storyline and compelling characters. Written by the talented Sarah J. Maas, this epic fantasy series has garnered a massive fan following. One of the most commonly asked questions among fans is, “How many books are in ACOTAR?” In this article, we will explore the number of books in the ACOTAR series and answer some frequently asked questions regarding the series.

The ACOTAR series currently consists of five books, with a spin-off novel and additional upcoming releases. Let’s delve into the details of each book in the series:

1. A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR):
This is the first book in the series, introducing readers to the fascinating world of Prythian. We follow the journey of Feyre Archeron, a young huntress who is captured and taken to the magical realm of the faeries. As she discovers the dark secrets of this world, she must navigate political intrigues, dangerous alliances, and a forbidden romance. ACOTAR was published in 2015 and became an instant hit, captivating readers with its captivating world-building and complex characters.

2. A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOMAF):
The second book in the ACOTAR series takes readers deeper into Feyre’s story. Released in 2016, ACOMAF explores the aftermath of the events in ACOTAR and the consequences of Feyre’s choices. This book introduces new characters, expands on existing relationships, and delves into the complex dynamics of the faerie world. ACOMAF is often hailed as the fan-favorite of the series, with its gripping plot twists and emotional depth.

3. A Court of Wings and Ruin (ACOWAR):
Released in 2017, ACOWAR is the highly anticipated third installment of the ACOTAR series. This book brings the epic battle between Prythian’s faeries and the forces of evil to its climax. Feyre’s journey reaches its pinnacle as she fights to save her loved ones and the world she has come to call home. ACOWAR is a satisfying conclusion to the initial trilogy, tying up loose ends and offering closure to the storylines introduced in the previous books.

4. A Court of Frost and Starlight (ACOFAS):
ACOFAS is a novella set after the events of ACOWAR and serves as a bridge between the original trilogy and the forthcoming books. Published in 2018, this novella offers readers a glimpse into the lives of their favorite characters during the winter solstice celebrations. Although shorter in length compared to the other books, ACOFAS provides fans with additional insights and sets the stage for future developments in the series.

5. A Court of Silver Flames (ACOSF):
ACOSF is the fourth book in the ACOTAR series and focuses on the character of Nesta Archeron, Feyre’s sister. Released in 2021, this highly anticipated novel explores Nesta’s journey of healing and redemption. ACOSF introduces new challenges, intricate relationships, and further expands the world of ACOTAR. With its intense emotional depth and complex character arcs, this book has received immense praise from fans and critics alike.


Q: Are there any more books planned for the ACOTAR series?
A: Yes, Sarah J. Maas has announced that there will be more books in the ACOTAR world. While specific details are yet to be revealed, fans can look forward to future releases.

Q: Is it necessary to read the novella, A Court of Frost and Starlight, to understand the series?
A: While ACOFAS provides additional insights into the characters’ lives, it is not essential to the main plot of the series. However, reading it enhances the overall reading experience and bridges the gap between the original trilogy and the upcoming books.

Q: Can the ACOTAR series be enjoyed by readers who are not typically fans of fantasy?
A: Absolutely! The ACOTAR series has a wide appeal due to its compelling characters, intricate relationships, and immersive storytelling. Even if you are not a fan of the fantasy genre, this series offers a blend of romance, adventure, and political intrigue that can captivate readers from various backgrounds.

In conclusion, the ACOTAR series currently consists of five books, with plans for future releases. Sarah J. Maas has successfully created a captivating fantasy world that continues to enthrall readers. Whether you are a die-hard fan or a newcomer to the series, the books in ACOTAR offer an immersive reading experience that will transport you to the enchanting realm of Prythian.

Scroll to Top