How Many Agatha Raisin Books Are There

How Many Agatha Raisin Books Are There?

Agatha Raisin, the beloved amateur detective created by the prolific British author M.C. Beaton, has captivated readers around the world with her quirky personality and uncanny ability to solve crimes. Since her debut in 1992, Agatha has become a literary icon, delighting fans with her wit, charm, and insatiable curiosity. But just how many Agatha Raisin books are there? In this article, we will explore the extensive series and provide answers to some frequently asked questions.

The Agatha Raisin series currently consists of a staggering 33 books, with the 34th installment scheduled for release in 2022. M.C. Beaton, whose real name was Marion Chesney, wrote the series until her passing in 2019. Her son, Charles Gibbon, has taken up the mantle and is continuing to write new Agatha Raisin mysteries, ensuring that fans can enjoy their favorite detective for years to come.

The series begins with “Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death,” in which Agatha, a recently retired London PR executive, moves to the picturesque Cotswolds village of Carsely, seeking a quieter life. However, her plans for a peaceful existence quickly unravel when she becomes embroiled in a murder investigation. Determined to prove her worth as a detective, Agatha sets out to solve the crime, introducing readers to her eccentric personality and unorthodox investigative methods.

As the series progresses, Agatha finds herself entangled in a variety of murder cases, often against her will. From poisoned curries to mysterious deaths at local fairs, each book presents a new puzzle for Agatha to unravel. Along the way, readers are treated to a rich cast of colorful characters, including Agatha’s on-again, off-again love interest, James Lacey, and her loyal assistant, Roy Silver.

The Agatha Raisin series has earned a devoted following, thanks in large part to Beaton’s ability to blend humor, mystery, and a touch of romance. The books have been praised for their wit, engaging plots, and the endearing nature of their protagonist. Agatha Raisin’s flaws and idiosyncrasies make her relatable and likable, despite her sometimes brash demeanor.


1. Can I read the Agatha Raisin books out of order?
While each book can be enjoyed as a standalone mystery, reading the series in order allows readers to fully appreciate the character development and ongoing storylines. However, if you prefer to jump in at a later point, the books are still enjoyable on their own.

2. Are the Agatha Raisin books suitable for all ages?
The Agatha Raisin series is primarily targeted towards adult readers. While the mysteries themselves are not overly graphic, the books contain adult themes and occasional strong language. Parents should exercise discretion when considering the appropriateness of the series for younger readers.

3. Are there any plans for a television adaptation of the Agatha Raisin series?
Yes, a television adaptation of the Agatha Raisin books was produced by Sky and Acorn TV. Starring Ashley Jensen as the titular character, the series has garnered a dedicated fan base of its own. Multiple seasons have been released, bringing the vibrant world of Agatha Raisin to life on the small screen.

4. Will the Agatha Raisin series continue after M.C. Beaton’s passing?
Yes, Charles Gibbon, Beaton’s son, has taken over writing the Agatha Raisin series. He is dedicated to maintaining the spirit and charm of his mother’s work while adding his own unique touch. Fans can look forward to new adventures featuring Agatha Raisin in the years to come.

In conclusion, the Agatha Raisin series is a beloved collection of mysteries that has captivated readers for nearly three decades. With 33 books currently available and more on the horizon, fans can continue to enjoy the adventures of Agatha Raisin, the quirky detective with a knack for solving crimes. Whether you’re a long-time fan or discovering Agatha for the first time, these books are sure to entertain and delight.

Scroll to Top