How Are the Books of the Bible Divided

How Are the Books of the Bible Divided?

The Bible is a collection of religious texts that are considered sacred by Christians, Jews, and many other religious groups. It is comprised of several books that are divided into two main sections: the Old Testament and the New Testament. Each section is further divided into smaller books, making up a total of 66 books in the Protestant Bible and 73 books in the Catholic Bible. In this article, we will explore how the books of the Bible are divided and provide answers to frequently asked questions about this topic.

1. The Old Testament:
The Old Testament is the first section of the Bible and is primarily based on the Hebrew Bible, which is also known as the Tanakh. It consists of several books that are categorized into different genres, including historical narratives, poetry, wisdom literature, and prophetic writings. The books of the Old Testament are further divided into the following sections:

– The Pentateuch: This section consists of the first five books of the Bible, namely Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. These books are attributed to Moses and contain the foundational laws and teachings of Judaism.

– Historical Books: This section includes 12 books that narrate the history of the Jewish people, from the conquest of Canaan to the Babylonian exile. Some notable books in this section are Joshua, Judges, Samuel, Kings, and Chronicles.

– Wisdom Literature: This section comprises books that provide wisdom and guidance for daily living. It includes books like Proverbs, Psalms, Ecclesiastes, and the Song of Solomon.

– Prophets: The prophetic books are divided into two subsections: the Major Prophets (Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel, and Daniel) and the Minor Prophets (Hosea to Malachi). These books contain messages from prophets who spoke on behalf of God, warning the people of Israel about their disobedience and foretelling future events.

2. The New Testament:
The New Testament is the second section of the Bible and focuses on the life, teachings, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ. It contains 27 books that are divided into the following categories:

– The Gospels: The New Testament begins with four books known as the Gospels, namely Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. These books provide accounts of Jesus’ life, ministry, teachings, and miracles.

– Acts of the Apostles: This book, written by Luke, describes the early Christian church’s formation and the activities of the apostles after Jesus’ ascension.

– Epistles: The majority of the New Testament consists of epistles, which are letters written by apostles and early Christian leaders to various churches and individuals. These letters offer teachings, encouragement, and instructions for Christian living. Some notable epistles include Romans, Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, Thessalonians, Timothy, Titus, Philemon, James, Peter, John, and Jude.

– Revelation: The final book of the Bible, Revelation, is an apocalyptic book that reveals the future events and the ultimate triumph of God over evil.


Q: Who divided the Bible into chapters and verses?
A: The division of the Bible into chapters is attributed to Stephen Langton, an Archbishop of Canterbury, in the early 13th century. The division into verses is credited to Robert Estienne, a printer, in the 16th century.

Q: Are the books of the Bible arranged in chronological order?
A: No, the books of the Bible are not arranged in strict chronological order. However, the books within each section are generally organized based on their historical context or authorship.

Q: Why are there different versions of the Bible with varying numbers of books?
A: The different versions of the Bible are a result of variations in the canon, which refers to the official list of books considered to be divinely inspired. The Catholic Bible includes additional books known as the Deuterocanonical books, whereas the Protestant Bible excludes them.

Q: How can I easily navigate through the books of the Bible?
A: The books of the Bible are often labeled with abbreviations to facilitate easy navigation. For example, Genesis is abbreviated as “Gen,” Exodus as “Exo,” and so on. Additionally, Bible concordances and digital applications allow users to search for specific passages or keywords.

In conclusion, the books of the Bible are divided into the Old Testament and the New Testament, each comprising different sections and genres. Understanding this division can help readers navigate through the Bible and gain a deeper understanding of its teachings and messages.

Scroll to Top