Colleen Hoover Books What Order to Read

Colleen Hoover is a renowned author known for her captivating and emotionally charged novels. With over 15 books to her name, it can be overwhelming for newcomers to know where to start. In this article, we will guide you through the recommended order in which to read Colleen Hoover’s books, and answer some frequently asked questions about her work.

Order of Reading:
1. Slammed Series:
– Slammed
– Point of Retreat
– This Girl

The Slammed series introduces us to Layken and Will, two characters whose lives intertwine through poetry and heartache. This trilogy is the perfect introduction to Colleen Hoover’s writing style, showcasing her ability to create relatable and vulnerable characters.

2. Hopeless Series:
– Hopeless
– Losing Hope

The Hopeless series delves into darker themes, exploring the lives of Sky and Holder. These books tackle subjects like abuse, loss, and redemption, while also showcasing the power of love and healing.

3. Maybe Someday Series:
– Maybe Someday
– Maybe Not

Maybe Someday is a unique novel that includes original music created by musician Griffin Peterson. This series explores complex relationships, forbidden love, and the power of connection.

4. It Ends with Us

It Ends with Us is a thought-provoking and emotionally charged novel that tackles sensitive topics such as domestic violence. It is a heart-wrenching story that will leave readers contemplating the complexities of relationships.

5. November 9

November 9 is a captivating standalone novel that follows the lives of Fallon and Ben, two characters who meet once a year on the same date. This book explores the power of fate, second chances, and the impact of timing on love.

6. Confess

Confess takes readers on a journey through the lives of Auburn and Owen. It is a story filled with secrets, art, and the power of forgiveness. This novel showcases Hoover’s ability to create suspenseful and deeply emotional narratives.

7. Regretting You

Regretting You centers around the complicated relationship between a mother and daughter, Morgan and Clara. This novel explores grief, family dynamics, and the importance of finding oneself.

8. Verity

Verity is a departure from Hoover’s usual romance genre, diving into the world of psychological thriller. This novel is filled with suspense, mystery, and a captivating plot that will keep you on the edge of your seat.


1. Are Colleen Hoover’s books standalone or connected?
Most of Colleen Hoover’s books are standalone novels, meaning they can be read independently. However, some characters from previous books may make appearances in later novels, creating a sense of connection for avid readers.

2. Are Colleen Hoover’s books suitable for young adults?
While Colleen Hoover’s books often explore mature themes, they are primarily targeted towards adult readers. Some of her novels contain explicit content and deal with sensitive subjects, so it is recommended for mature readers.

3. What makes Colleen Hoover’s writing unique?
Colleen Hoover is known for her ability to create deeply emotional and relatable characters. Her novels tackle complex themes while still providing moments of hope and redemption. Hoover’s writing style is engaging, gripping, and often leaves a lasting impact on readers.

4. Can I read Colleen Hoover’s books in any order?
While most of Colleen Hoover’s books are standalone, it is generally recommended to read them in publication order. This allows readers to appreciate any connections between characters or subtle references to previous novels.

In conclusion, Colleen Hoover’s books offer a wide range of emotional and thought-provoking stories. Whether you are a fan of romance, suspense, or deep character exploration, there is something for everyone in Hoover’s extensive collection. By following the suggested reading order and diving into her captivating narratives, you are sure to be captivated by her unique storytelling abilities.

Scroll to Top