40K Books Where to Start

40K Books: Where to Start

The Warhammer 40,000 universe is vast and complex, with a rich history and countless stories that have captivated fans for decades. With so many books to choose from, it can be overwhelming for newcomers who want to delve into this expansive universe. Fear not, for we have compiled a guide to help you navigate the world of 40K books and find the perfect starting point.

1. Horus Heresy Series:
If you’re interested in the origins of the Warhammer 40,000 universe, the Horus Heresy series is the perfect place to start. Set 10,000 years before the main events of 40K, this series explores the tragic fall of the Warmaster Horus and the events that led to the galaxy-spanning conflict known as the Horus Heresy. Begin with “Horus Rising” by Dan Abnett, and you’ll be hooked on this epic saga.

2. Eisenhorn Trilogy:
For those who prefer a more focused narrative, the Eisenhorn trilogy by Dan Abnett is a great entry point. It follows the exploits of Inquisitor Gregor Eisenhorn, a relentless defender of humanity in a galaxy plagued by heresy and corruption. Start with “Xenos,” where Eisenhorn’s journey begins, and witness his transformation from a dedicated servant of the Imperium to a man walking a dangerous line between loyalty and heresy.

3. Gaunt’s Ghosts Series:
If you’re a fan of military science fiction, look no further than the Gaunt’s Ghosts series by Dan Abnett. This series follows the Tanith First and Only, a regiment of Imperial Guard soldiers fighting on the front lines of the Sabbat Worlds Crusade. Join Colonel-Commissar Ibram Gaunt and his men in their desperate struggle against Chaos and the forces of the Archenemy. “First and Only” is the perfect starting point for this thrilling series.

4. Ciaphas Cain Series:
For a lighter take on the grim darkness of the far future, the Ciaphas Cain series by Sandy Mitchell is a must-read. It follows the adventures of Commissar Ciaphas Cain, a self-proclaimed coward who always manages to find himself in the middle of dangerous situations. With a healthy dose of humor and plenty of action, start with “For the Emperor” and enjoy this entertaining series.

5. The Beast Arises Series:
If you’re interested in a more recent addition to the Warhammer 40,000 lore, “The Beast Arises” series is worth exploring. Written by multiple authors, it takes place in the aftermath of the Horus Heresy and follows the Imperium’s struggle against a massive Ork WAAAGH! that threatens to tear the galaxy apart. Begin with “I Am Slaughter” by Dan Abnett, and witness the Imperium’s fight for survival against an insurmountable enemy.

Frequently Asked Questions:

1. Do I need to have prior knowledge of the Warhammer 40,000 universe to enjoy these books?
No, while having some familiarity with the 40K lore can enhance your reading experience, most of these series can be enjoyed by newcomers. Each book provides ample context and explanations, allowing readers to dive into the story without feeling lost.

2. Are there any standalone novels I can start with?
Yes, there are several standalone novels that provide a self-contained story within the 40K universe. Some notable examples include “Dark Imperium” by Guy Haley, “Ravenor” by Dan Abnett, and “Night Lords: The Omnibus” by Aaron Dembski-Bowden.

3. Can I read the books in any order?
While some series have a chronological order, most books can be read independently. However, starting with the first book in a series will provide a better understanding of the characters and their development over time.

4. Are there any audiobook versions available?
Yes, many 40K books have been adapted into audiobooks, allowing fans to immerse themselves in the universe even while on the go. These audiobooks often feature talented voice actors and sound effects that enhance the storytelling experience.

In conclusion, the world of Warhammer 40,000 books offers a vast array of stories and series for fans to explore. Whether you’re interested in the grand events of the Horus Heresy or the adventures of iconic characters like Eisenhorn or Ciaphas Cain, there’s a book for every taste. So grab your bolter and enter the grim darkness of the far future!

Scroll to Top